Mediterranean Pasta Dinner

7 Oct

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The other day I found myself reminiscing and I realized what a huge difference a year can make.

Last year at this time I was living in Italy without a single care in the world, my biggest life dilemma was what flavor of gelato I should get. I didn’t work, homework and classes were a joke, and my daily routine consisted of going to the outdoor markets, improving my Italian, and doing a lot of sitting around at Italian cafes and people watching, and eating….I did a lot of eating!

Fast forward a year, back to reality, my life has pretty much done a 360. In addition to being a full time student and taking classes which I actually have to do well in I also have three jobs and work close to 30 hours or more each week. My life dilemmas are much more complicated than what gelato flavor I should get. Instead I find myself wondering how I am going to afford my rent, whether or not I am going to find a job after graduation, and where I am going to be living.

Instead of sitting around at cafes and people watching I usually sit at my kitchen table slaving over an endless pile of homework.

I am realistic, I know that this is just the beginning, I know that things will get harder before they get better. I know that the hard times will build character, they will make us all the more grateful for the good times.

So in the meantime I try to be grateful for the food things in my life, like my supportive friends and family. I try to relax by doing the things I love like cooking and though it doesn’t solve all of life problems it sure does make me feel a bit better.

Mediterranean Pasta

Serves 3

Ingredients

2 cloves of garlic minced

1/4 cup of olive oil

1/2 cup of cooked white beans

6 strips of roasted red peppers drained from liquid

1/4 cup of crumbled feta cheese

2 Tbsp of chopped Scallions

salt and pepper

6 ounces of whole wheat penne pasta

Method

1) in a saute pan, heat oil over medium heat, add in garlic and saute until fragrant, add in roasted red peppers and white beans and toss with the garlic and oil mixture, be careful not to let the garlic burn while doing this. Remove from heat and set aside.

2) Meanwhile in a sauce pan cook pasta according to directions, be sure to add salt to the water before pouring in the dry pasta.

3) Once pasta is al dente, drain and set aside, pour cooked pasta into the sauce pan with oil, garlic, beans, and peppers. toss pasta well in the sauce, put pan on low to medium heat. Next add in the feta cheese, then top with scallions and enjoy a bowl full of this delicious pasta dish.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

