Over Stuffed Artichoke

16 Sep

383067_227442597322841_580695503_n

It’s officially beginning to feel more like fall which is both a good and bad thing.

On one hand the coming of fall means cool weather, fashionable boots and scarves are now appropriate to wear again, and really delicious foods like artichokes, apples, and squash are making their reappearing debut! On the other hand it also means back to school, back to late nights studying, and back to feeling like I constantly want to pull out my hair!

I am a senior and even in college I am beginning to feel a strong case of senioritis brewing. This is not especially great timing seeing as this semester I do still have a pretty hefty work load filled with required classes in my major. And unlike senior year in high school, I can’t begin to slack second semester either (pretty much after you get into college senior year of high school students seriously begins to get more relaxed in their studies) because I will then have to find a real job!

It seems as though this day of finally reaching senior year would never come and now I’ve realized it all went by so fast and suddenly things that seemed so  far off are now my realities, Sigh! I guess I’ll just have to do what I can to simply take each day as it comes and not get overly stressed about the future, that way I won’t miss anything going on in the present!

Ingredients

1 half of loaf of hard crispy Italian bread

1 tsp of garlic powder

1 tsp of oregano

salt and pepper

2 artichokes properly cleaned with leaves trimmed

3 cups of chicken broth

1 tbsp of lemon juice

2 tbsp of minced garlic

1 tbsp of olive oil

1/2 cup of white wine

Method

1) Slice bread and toast until crispy and golden brown, let bread cool and tear off pieces of bread and put into a blender, add herbs and process until bread resembles fine bread crumbs

2) In a saute pan saute garlic, add garlic to the bread crumb mixture, pour a little bit of olive oil over the breadcrumbs and begin to stuff each leaf of the artichoke, add the remaining stuffing to the center of the artichoke

3) Pour chicken broth into a large sauce pan, add in artichokes, make sure artichokes are not covered by the liquid, the pot should be about 1/3 filled, add in white wine and lemon juice, cover and let steam.  Every few minutes pour some of the liquid over the artichokes, steam until the texture of the artichoke changes from hard to soft, remove from liquid, let cool, and enjoy!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

