Spaghetti with Clams and Shrimp

2 Sep

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I feel like every time I write a new blog post I start off with an apology, well once again I am sorry I haven’t been posting consistently but I have been very, very, busy.

Those of you who read my last blog post will remember that I was in the middle of what I considered to be a mini crisis, after all not having an apartment a month before you are required to move out of your current apartment can be quite stressful.

Well to update you all I have found an apartment (sigh of relief) and I actually just moved in two days ago, and oh what an adventure it was!

I’ve always been the anxious type, the type that gets restless being in one place for too long! I always imagined I would move around a lot, move from city to city every few years, just to mix it up. But after my exhausting experience moving two days ago I have officially decided that the next time I move I will live and die in that house.

The idea of moving may be appealing, after all a new home is something to get excited about, but the actual act of moving is absolutely dreadful. For weeks now I have been slowly packing up my life into boxes and I am always still surprised that despite the fact that I always think I’ve packed everything, I open a draw and find even more junk to pack, how is it possible that in one year I have accumulate so much stuff? Then of course after you pack the problem becomes that you can’t find anything, I basically wore the same outfit all last week as the idea of exploring through filled boxes wasn’t so appealing!

Don’t even get me started on the actual move. Basically I was drenched with sweat five minutes into the move, lugging heavy furniture down one flight of stairs and then bringing it up two more flights, can be quite difficult, I definitely got my workout in for the day!

Then of course there’s the headache of unpacking everything, remembering in which box you put specific items, and mildly freaking out when you can’t find them.

But I guess it’s all worth it in the end when everything is unpacked and organized and it begins to feel like home!

And nothing makes a house feel like a home more than the aroma of a home cooked meal, and I of course definitely recommend this meal, its delicious and flavorful!

Ingredients

3 cups of fresh clams in a bowl of salted water

2 cups of raw shrimp

2 cloves of garlic sliced

2 cups of fish broth

2 tbsp of olive oil

6 oz of Spaghetti

a pinch of salt

Ingredients for Tomato Sauce

6 medium sized greenhouse tomatoes, peeled and diced

3 cloves of garlic minced

1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil

Chopped basil

salt and pepper

Method

1. Begin by heating up 1 tbsp of olive oil in a large pan over medium heat, add in minced garlic and saute until fragrant, add in tomatoes, salt and pepper let tomatoes reduce, put sauce on simmer and cover for 30 minutes

2. Drain clams from the salted water, in a saute pan add 1 tbsp of olive oil, add garlic and saute, add in clams, followed by the fish broth and steam the clams, as the clams open, remove them with a slotted spoon from the pan and place in a side bowl,discard any clams that do not open. Reserve the liquid from the clams in a spare bowl, discard the slices of garlic.

3. Boil water, add salt and pasta, cook until al dente, drain and set aside

4. Pour the remaining 1 tbsp of olive oil in a saute pan, , add shrimp and saute until opaque, season with salt and pepper, and set aside

5. In the large sauce pan containing the tomato sauce add in the clams and shrimp, add in a bit of the reserved liquid from the clams and let simmer for an additional five minutes

6. Remove some of the clams from the shell in order to save space. Next add in the spaghetti and toss thoroughly with the sauce, sprinkle the chopped basil on top and serve warm.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

