Lamb in a Savory Red Wine Sauce Over Creamy Polenta

25 Jun

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERASo maybe it’s because I just turned 21, and I am now a real adult or maybe it’s the realization that this fall I will be completing my final year as an undergrad in college, but lately I have been thinking an awful lot about my future. Mostly I have been thinking what the heck am I going to do when I get out of here, and more importantly what do I wanna do once I get out.  It’s a scary thought not knowing what you wanna do, maybe it’s ok for a sophomore, even a junior, but as a soon to be college grad I am not sure not knowing what I wanna do is really an acceptable excuse, is it?

Sure I thought I knew what I wanted to do many times. Originally I went to school for business thinking I was going to make it big in corporate America, but after taking a few business classes I found the subject quite dull, I decided business would be a safe and general enough major but not something I necessarily wanted to pursue as a career path.

Next I declared hospitality as my one true passion, but lately the long crazy hours which are required in the industry have made me begun to wonder if maybe a more professional Monday-Friday 9-5 job might be more my speed after all I do enjoy having weekends off like everyone else and spending my holidays with my family rather than sitting at work with a fake smile plastered on my face.

Of course I always did want to open a restaurant, a little breakfast and lunch joint offering an ever-changing daily menu filled with delicious goodies in a relaxed atmosphere, modeled after one of the rosticcerias that I so often frequented while I was in Italy, but this of course requires initial capital, and as a newly graduating college student with quite a bit of loans, this career path doesn’t look like it will be to realistic either!

My ideal job of course would be to travel around the world eating my way through…doesn’t a job that matches that description exist, if so sign me up!

Until I figure out exactly what it is I wanna do I will be doing some serious distressing, try to focus a bit less on finding my passion and doing things that genuinely just make me happy, like cooking. Last Sunday after a crazy hectic week of school and work I decided preparing a comforting, home cooked meal was just the thing needed. From the tedious preparation of chopping onions, to the fragrant aroma that wafted through my apartment, up until the first morsel of tender meat that melted in my mouth, I immediately felt more relaxed and refocused, it’s funny how a good meal can do that to you, but this meal sure did do it for, try it out maybe it will do the same for you!

Ingredients

3 tbsp of olive oil

1/2 cup of onions finely chopped

1/2 cup of celery finely chopped

1/2 cup of carrots finely chopped

2 lbs of rib lamb chops

1/4 cup of flour

1 cup of red wine

3 cups of meat broth

salt and pepper

1 cup of  dry polenta

3 cups of water

Method

1) Begin by adding oil to a large pan over medium heat, add in carrots, celery, and onion and cook until mixture is soft.

2) Pour flour onto a large dish, gently coat both sides of the  lamb in flour, use more flour if needed, place flour coated lamb chops into the saute pan with the vegetables, brown lamb on both sides

3) Add the broth and wine to the pan, add salt and pepper, turn up the heat a bit so the liquid begins to boil and the alcohol from the wine cooks out, once mixture comes to boil,  reduce heat, cover pan and let simmer for about forty minutes

4) Once the lamb is nearly finished, add water and dry polenta to a sauce pan, let the water boil and continue to stir polenta to ensure it has a thick and creamy consistency

4 Responses to “Lamb in a Savory Red Wine Sauce Over Creamy Polenta”

  1. sybaritica June 25, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    The lamb recipe looks great but I really like the idea of serving it over polenta like that 🙂

    • La Cucina Di Kait June 25, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

      It’s such a great base dish that I feel like is often forgotten about!

  2. Meg@thelegaltart June 25, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    If you find that job eating your way around the world please let me know. Great comfort food recipe.

    • La Cucina Di Kait June 25, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

      OH if I find that job eating my way around the world you can be sure I will be bragging about it, so you will know!!!!!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

