Honey Roasted Brussel Sprout and Bacon Pizza and an Overview on my Semester

30 Apr

????????????????????

So here I am sitting in a nearly empty classroom as I await for the first final of my spring semester to begin! It seems,  like just yesterday I was just getting back from Italy and buying books in anticipation for my spring semester to begin, now it’s ending, am I a bit nostalgic, not at all I couldn’t be happier now that the semester has nearly come to an to end.

This semester has been long and drawn out, my mostly math based classes have been a bore and I spent most the semester counting down the days until freedom aka summer.

Ok so maybe I am being a bit dramatic, but not about the academic part of this semester, that really was a bore. But I also did have some great learning opportunities this semester and those opportunities got me thinking and allowed me to make some major decisions.

First I had the opportunity to volunteer with Habitat for Humanity and travel down south to Georgia. On that trip I had the wonderful opportunity of meeting genuinely nice locals, I met so many people that had burdens of their own yet they disguised them with a positive attitude and outlook on life. The trip was truly inspiring and I came back with a new refreshed outlook. I began making some important decisions when I came home, first was that I decided that the day after I finish senior year I am determined to move out of Boston and more importantly out of the Northeast. I’ve been living here my whole life and although it’s comfortable I would like to try living somewhere else, where that might be, I am not sure, but wherever it is I want to go somewhere drastically different, maybe the south, after all having the opportunity to meet so many genuinely nice and welcoming people gave me the confidence to believe that although I may not always witness it, there are some truly wonderful, kind and selfless people in this world.

Then towards the end of the semester came another experience, and although this wasn’t a good experience in the least it was still a experience which came chock full of important life lessons. The experience I am talking about of course is the Boston Bombings,as  a Boston resident I was of course saddened by the news of the vicious attacks at the Boston Marathon, however the anxiety and fear didn’t fully set in until after Friday 19th, the day when I learned that the two suspects had been residents in my neighborhood, in fact even more unnerving was the fact that they had lived on a street which I walked down almost daily and after the attack it was that house, on that street, in this neighborhood that they went back to living in. I’d be lying if I said I am still not affected by what happened, every time I hear sirens and see the red and blue flashes my heart rate can’t help but speed up just a bit, every time I walk through this neighborhood I can’t help but feel a bit uneasy a bit less safe, but still I am working to overcome these fears.

Going through this experience has taught me a lot, first I learned that we can’t live our lives being afraid, for one thing it’s just too exhausting and secondly the best revenge is living our lives as normal as possible. Second I realized how valuable life really is, when tragedies like these happen it tends to put things in perspective, I realized that worrying and stressing about the small stuff is just a waste of time, and most importantly I realized the value of living life in the present and not for the future. Sometimes I tend to get so caught up thinking about the future, envisioning my life, that I forget to live my current life. hearing about the many innocent victims that lost their lives, limbs, and were severely injured has made the age old advice about living life to it’s fullest all the more valuable.

So maybe I am anxious for this semester to end, anxious to finally be done with school and boring classes, but the life lessons I learned outside the classroom this semester will be lessons I carry with me forever, they will be lessons I never forget, and lessons I always apply to all areas of my life.

Ingredients

1 lb of Brussels sprouts, trimmed and cut length wise

2 tbsp of olive oil

salt and pepper

red pepper flakes (optional)

1/3 cut of honey

6 slices of crisp bacon, crumbled

1 Pizza dough

1/3 cup of cheese ( I used Daiya non dairy cheese)

Method

1) Begin by preheat oven to 350, toss brussels sprouts with olive oil, salt, and pepper roast until crisp, remove from oven and drizzle honey on top of warm brussels sprouts

2) Roll out dough on a greased baking sheet, evenly place brussels sprouts, crumbled bacon and cheese on top, let bake until crust is cooked through and cheese is thoroughly  melted

I'd love to know your thoughts....

