Shrimp Over Roasted Quinoa and A Good Old Fashioned Rant

4 Apr

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

So it’s finally that time in the semester, the time I have come to both love and hate. With only 22 days of school left I am overjoyed to be nearly done and I am eagerly looking forward to a three month reprieve from school,  but at the same time I am dreading the next 22 days. Within that time I still have to complete 4 projects, write one paper, study for three tests, and of course prepare myself to take five finals……obviously you can see my conflict as to weather I should be jumping for joy or pulling out my hair.

The thing is I am tired of school, I know that compared to the many people that are currently going or have gone to school for a higher degree, that my argument seems a bit weak, especially after just three years of college but I can’t help it. I am eager to start a career, start gaining experience, I am tired of sitting in classrooms and learning about the outside world of business, I rather experience it. Although I do believe education is important there are some things I absolutely disagree with , such as the requirement to take all these diverse classes which have nothing to do with anyone’s major, sure I understand that the expectation is that we will become more diverse in our thinking and more well rounded in society but as a business major I am not at all keen on the idea of Biology.

I look forward to a time where weekends are my own, where homework doesn’t consume my life, a time when I can study what I want to study, and finally a time when I can come home and only have the responsibility to preparing a meal!

Ok ok maybe I should stop my ranting now, I am just so over stressed with school work that it’s hard not to take out all my anger on school. Anyways though on a different note try this recipe, it’s delicious and light and the perfect spring meal!

Ingredients

1 cup of shrimp with tails removed

1/2 tbsp of olive oil + 2 tbsp of olive oil

2 cloves of finely chopped garlic

salt and pepper

1 cup of cooked quinoa

15 oz of chopped spinach

1/3 cup of chicken broth

1/4 cup of chopped kalamata olives

Vinaigrette

2 tbsp of olive oil

1 1/2 tbsp of white wine vinegar

a drop of honey

1 tbsp of lemon juice

fresh dill chopped

fresh oregano chopped

salt and pepper

Method

1) Preheat oven to 350, in a saute pan add in olive oil and garlic and saute over medium heat, once garlic is fragrant add in the shrimp, salt and pepper and saute until opaque, remove from heat

2) In a bowl mix, the quinoa, shrimp and olive oil together, gently lay out the mixture on a grease baking sheet, place in the oven and roast for 15 minutes or until quinoa is just golden brown, once done set aside

4) In a small bowl wisk together ingredients for the dressing

3) In a saute pan add in chicken broth and let it get warm, add in spinach and let wilt, drain spinach and squeeze to get out any liquid, in bowl mix together quinoa, shrimp, spinach, add in kalamata olives, pour dressing over the mixture and serve!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

