Recreating My Favorite Italian Pizza, Tomato Sauce and Spinach a top a Thin Crust Topped with an Egg

26 Mar

????????????????????

This past weekend I had a serious case of the Sundays…some people enjoy Sundays, they find it to be a leisurely, relaxing day, I however, am not one of those people. I find the entire day long and boring. Before you go on thinking I am a pessimist let me explain myself. For starters Sundays are typically my homework day, and this weekend I happened to be quite busy which meant before Sunday I hadn’t even had an opportunity to start any work, meaning that this particular Sunday I had five subjects worth of homework, a paper to write, and two tests to study for (can you really blame me for being so indifferent to Sundays now?) My second reasons for not being a huge Sunday fan of course is knowing that tomorrow is Monday…and you really can’t argue that anyone actually looks forward to a Monday. I know I certainty  don’t especially this week as I have a huge midterm and accounting test…..not fun!

Sometime in between studying for accounting and crunching numbers for an impossible math equation I began to get very overwhelmed, I quickly got tired, and realized I wasn’t retaining a thing (it’s obvious I overdosed on the studying), so I decided to take a much needed rest, which ended up lasting several hours. Although it did happen to be a beautiful sunny day I opted not to go outside, knowing I would feel too guilty if I went out and enjoyed myself when I still had a pile of work to start. No staying inside and wasting time was a far better idea in my mind….that way I could at least have easy access to my books and study materials when the guilt began to really set in.

I decided to spend quite a good part of my day reminiscing alone while going through my photos from Italy (is it obvious I am having some trouble letting go), this ended up being quite a bad idea as most of my pictures are food related and I found myself eating just about everything in my cabinets as I suddenly worked up quite an appetite.

I came across a picture of the amazing pizza I had in Bologna, it was topped with tomato sauce, sauteed spinach, and an egg. I remember I had been too busy talking to look at the menu so when the waiter came to our table I  quickly ordered it on a whim, however it was probably one of the best meals I ever had in Italy. Egg on a pizza, you might be thinking that A) I am crazy for ordering such a “weird” choice of pizza, or B) I was too busy to realize what I was ordering. However assuming either of those things would be incorrect, I absolutely knew what I was ordering and in Italy a pizza with an egg cracked on top is quite common and an authentic way of preparing and serving pizza, it isn’t considered “weird” at all!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

As someone who is lactose intolerant, I typically don’t put cheese on my pizza, usually a little drizzle of olive oil, Is all I ever need, but this particular pizza didn’t even need that. The egg white was well set but the yolk was runny and spread all over the pizza giving the pizza an abundance of flavor….

At this point I was having a serious craving for this pizza, so I decided to try my best to recreate it! I was pleasantly surprised with how it turned out and it definitely satisfied my craving.I know to some of you this recipe might sound “weird” but I urge you to try it, you won’t be disappointed!

Ingredients

2 Tbsp of Olive oil

4 cloves of garlic minced

15 oz of crushed tomatoes

1 cup of Mozzarella cheese (I used Daiya, Dairy Free Cheese as I am lactose Intolerant)

1 Pizza Dough

1 egg

red pepper flakes (optional)

salt and pepper

basil

Method

1) In a skillet bring heat 1 tbsp of oil , add in half of the minced garlic and saute until fragrant add in crushed tomatoes, salt and pepper, and bring to a boil and cover and let simmer for 20 minutes

2) Preheat the oven to 450, roll out dough and place on a greased baking sheet

3) In a saute pan heat the remaining 1 tbsp of olive oil, add in garlic and saute until fragrant, add in spinach and red pepper flakes, and let spinach wilt, sprinkle with salt and pepper and set aside

4) ladle about 3/4 – 1 cup of tomato sauce onto the dough, next add spinach, and finally top with cheese,make sure your toppings are evenly spread out on top of the pizza, place in oven and let bake for 10 minutes

5) In the mean time crack the egg and place in a side bowl, once cheese has melted and dough has browned carefully pour egg ontop of the pizza, place back in the oven and let bake for five additional minutes, be sure to check the pizza, the egg white should be set the egg yolk however should be a bit runny, take out let cool, and top with basil, and enjoy!

One Response to “Recreating My Favorite Italian Pizza, Tomato Sauce and Spinach a top a Thin Crust Topped with an Egg”

  1. sue March 26, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    I may just have to try this…I make a quick pizza the same way with a quick tomato sauce…I do eat eggs, so I may give it a go ..

I'd love to know your thoughts....

