Curried Sweet Potato Soup

7 Mar

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Living in the city can sure have it advantages and disadvantage. It wasn’t long before I realized that when things are good the city is the best place to be, but when things are bad, it suddenly becomes the worst place to be. For example taking a long walk to run errands on a beautiful day doesn’t seem like a chore it just seems like a great source of free exercise, a key advantage of living in the city. But on a cold rainy day walking anywhere seems like a fate worse than death, especially when you’re in a hurry and you wish you could simply hop in a car and take a quick five-minute ride rather than a 15 minute walk.

Another topic for debate is the housing. Who wouldn’t want an apartment smack dab in the center of a bustling city, after all with so much going on just outside your door there is hardly ever an opportunity to be bored. However this can also be quite a curse, as if paying double the price for a signficantly smaller apartment wasn’t enough all those opportunities outside your door aren’t free making it difficult for anyone on a budget to actually enjoy all that the cities offers!

And finally there is the issue of the supermarkets or lack of supermarkers…sometimes taking daily trips to the local farmers market is great, the idea of buying fresh, seasonal ingredients ideally seems perfect for maintaining a healthy lifestyle, plus there are an abundance of Whole Foods located throughout the city, and after all who doesn’t love a trip to Whole Foods, it’s practically a Foodie Haven! oppositely, though as a busy college student on a budget there really isn’t much time to go to the farmers market on a daily basis to pick up a few things and there really isn’t money to do weekly grocery shopping at Whole Foods. Plus the walk makes carrying more than two bags of groceries an impossible task!

So although there is not much one can do about the long walks or the expensive housing but thankfully there is something I can do about the grocery shopping issue, Peapod Delivery, gods gift to residents living in the city! If you don’t know what Peapod is then allow me to educate you, it’s Stop and Shops online grocery delivery service, you simple do all your grocery shopping online, choose a convenient time you want it to be delivered and then there are your groceries, waiting for you on your door step…it’s pretty fantastic!

A few weeks ago my Mom was supposed to come up for the day to visit with me, I love when my Mom comes to visit because she also tends to bring me groceries, however with a weekend forecast of snow, she decided to postpone her trip, of course I was devastated as I wanted to see my Mom and I was in desperate need of groceries (I was pretty much living on the bare minimums, pasta, rice….nothing too nutritional) So I decided to do my first peapod order, I ordered a month worth of food. But then as luck would have it, it didn’t end up snowing and my Mom decided that she would be coming up after all,  of course I was excited but I was also now a bit overwhelmed especially because with her arrival was at least eight grocery bags filled with the exact same items that I had just ordered. My new concern became how I was going to possibly eat all this food before it went bad, and where exactly I was going to fit all the food. I tried my best to make room and preserve the food as best as possible, I put my meat in the freezer, steamed up vegetables and froze those too. In total I now had 2 jars of peanut butter, 2 32 oz containers of oats, 12 breasts of chicken, four pounds of shrimp, over 10 bags of vegetables, and 8 sweet potatoes…needless to say the pressure to start cooking was on! Although most my ingredients were fine in the freezer, I couldn’t freeze my sweet potatoes, and although they can last for a quite a bit of time I decided it was best to use them soon especially since in one week I will be leaving for a 7 day trip to Georgia and I didn’t want them to go bad.

This recipe is pretty delicious, I strongly recommend it, especially for all you city residents, this makes a great meal on a cold rainy night, when the weather keeps you locked up in your all too expensive apartment because the thought walking anywhere is just too much to handle!

Ingredients

3 Shallots finely  chopped

3 large sweet potatoes, cubed

3 tbsp of olive oil

salt and pepper

1 tsp of cinnamon

1 1/2 tsp of curry powder (or more if desired)

5 cups of  stock (vegetable, Beef, or Chicken)

Method

1) Preheat oven to 350, on a greased baking sheet spread out sweet potatoes and shallots toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, cinnamon, and curry powder, let roast for 25 minutes or until soft, remove from oven and set aside.

2) Over medium heat, heat stock in a sauce pan, add in sweet potatoes, carefully transfer 1/2 of the broth and sweet potatoes, to a food processor, process on high until sweet potatoes are pureed, add in the remaining stock and sweet potatoes once again process until smooth

3) Add in additional seasonings if necessary and enjoy!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

