A Life Without Schiacciata Is a Life Not Worth Living

1 Mar

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 I don’t think a single day went by while I was in Italy that I didn’t eat at least one piece of schicciata, don’t judge me,  it was just so addicting, delicious, and everywhere….The minute the aroma of freshly baked bread topped with aromatic herbs hit my nose my willpower instantly weakened and by stomach quickly began to grumble.

Those of you who aren’t familiar with schiacciata think of focaccia bread, but a bit thinner, similar to a pizza without cheese and topped with the most amazing ingredients

like salty green olives

focaccia_con_olive

 caramelized onions

news-oniony_focaccia_1

roasted tomatoes with basil

untitled

and fresh rosemary

There is even a dessert schiacciata bread topped with plump grapes.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

…need I say more.

Of course during my time in Italy I made it my mission to sample all of these different variesties.

As I mentioned one can find schiacciata practically all over Italy, in the bakery section of the supermarket, at the pizzerias, and at bread bakeries which mainly specialize in making schiacciata..talk about heaven on earth.

Of course though once I got to american I was instaly in schiacciata withdrawl, so I decided to do something about my intense cravings. Inspired by the varieties I had tried in Italy I decided to make several different varities of schiacciata.

The first was sciacatta topped with caramelized onions, toasted walnuts, fresh rosemary, and gorgonzola cheese, typically known as schiacciata con noci e gorgonzola

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Next I made schiacciata topped with thinly sliced rosemary roasted potatoes

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

My personal favorite was a schiacciata topped with caramelized onions and crispy bacon

2012-12-24 11.59.03

These breads make for excellent appetizers, or delicious additions to any meal, but be warned they are quite addicting.

Recipe

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups unbleached flour and more for kneading

3/4 cup warm/tepid water

1/2 teaspoon crushed sea salt

1/2 teaspoon active dry yeast

1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil

Method

1) Begin by mixing together yeast and salt and flour, add in olive oil and water, form to make a dough

2) Set aside in a bowl and cover with plastic, set bowl in a warm area, let rise for 4-8 hours

3) On a flour dusted counter top knead dough and from a ball with dough, using your hands stretch out dough as you would if you were making a pizza, use a rolling-pin to even out the dough, roll it to desired thickness

4)Preheat rolled out dough on an oiled baking sheet, topped with desired topping, I recommend roasted potatoes, sautéed vegetables, or caramelized onions

5) Bake at 450, until dough is cooked through

6 Responses to “A Life Without Schiacciata Is a Life Not Worth Living”

  1. UltraViolet March 1, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    These all look delicious! I’m on a bread-kick right now, this might be next.

    • UltraViolet March 1, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

      I just realized you don’t have a baking time/temp on this recipe – I want to try it out so let me know!

      • La Cucina Di Kait March 2, 2013 at 12:17 am #

        Sorry I will update that now, but cook at 450

  2. risi4 September 17, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    I have been looking for a good schiaccat recipe since I lived in Florence years ago. Your pics look closest to what I am used to in Italy so Im going to try them out and let u know how it went.

    • La Cucina Di Kait September 24, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

      Please let me know how it turns out!! I really miss not being able to simply walk out my door and go to the nearest bakery for a slice of Schiacciata!

      • risi4 September 24, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

        I will let you know as soon as I get a chance to try it out.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

