It Has Happended, I have Turned into A Crazy Cat Lady and a Recipe for Ali di Pollo: Honey and Rosemary Rubbed Chicken Wings

22 Jan

566027_10151230973972672_2108651647_n

Within just one week I have completely fallen in love with my cat, Truffle (tartufa in italian). She is honestly the ideal cat, friendly, a people lover, a non hisser (super important), and a cuddler, oh plus did I mention how cute she is….because she truly is! I find myself rushing home after school or work to see her, I miss her when I am away, feel guilty about leaving, and feel the need to have conversations with her which include giving her a full account of my day…..of course she doesn’t ever have much to say her self…but sometimes that’s the nice things about having a pet just being able to talk without having to wait for a reply, it can be quite therapeutic!  Ok Is it obvious yet, this cat is making me a certifiable nut!

Ever since living on my own away from my parents I have wanted to have a pet of my own. I was thinking about getting a cat before I left for Italy, but I was convinced by my mother to wait until I returned to the USA, as it would be difficult to bond with the cat after leaving for four months…so I waited and waited and waited. Coming home for christmas I figured was the perfect time to get a cat, I hinted to my parents (like a little girl) that a cat is the one present I truly wanted for christmas….yet christmas day came and there was no cat. My mom made a valid point (although I hate to admit it) she said since I was moving into a new apartment with new roommates I didn’t know she thought it would be best if I got settled and got to know them first before bringing in a cat! So once again I played the waiting game, I moved into my apartment got settled for a total of four days before I decided to approach the subject of a cat with my roommates! Surprisingly they were on board and encouraged me to get a cat..so thats just what I did.

I dragged my friend Alexa with me on a 6 hours search for the perfect cat, we hit up two shelters but unfortunately had no luck in finding the perfect cat, I had previously had a cat Cinnamon, who was great and I began comparing all the cats to him….no one came close. I began to fear that maybe another cat-like Cinnamon didn’t exist, maybe he was just a one of a kind type of cat! Tired and feeling hopeless we went to our last appointment of the days, and that is where I found Truffle! Right away she was great, friendly, sweet, and affectionate, I just had to have her!

Things have been going great with her, she’s falling into a routine, loves being the center of attention in the house and gets along great with visitors……I couldn’t have asked for a better situation. Then my roommate, Hannah got a cat, a cute, little ten month old cat named Bailey!

397978_10151217343278587_720080517_n

 At first we were so excited for the two to meet, we had visions that they would instantly be playmates and best friends….of course though that did not happen! In fact as of currently they still stay on opposite sides of the apartment as far away from each other as possible. The few times that they have come in close contact have been quite unpleasant, they growl and hiss at each other and like to have stare downs….it’s a bit uncomfortable for all of us! Bailey has a habit of using Truffle’s litter box and Truffle sometimes like to eat Bailey’s food…only adding more fuel to the fire! Of course though as a worried cat owner I immediately googled the topic of introducing two cats together and asked just about every cat owner I know about the issue, I did however find out that this is all completely normal during the first initial time spent together, however ,it should not last…..hopefully! For the time being the only thing we can do is referee the situation, give them both equal attention, and pray that things get better fast!

With all this crazyness going on and my mind otherwise preoccupied there’s not much time to do a lot of cooking, which is why this is a great simple and easy recipe to make requiring very little prep!

Recipe

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients

3 lbs of chicken wings cleaned

1 cup of extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup of lemon juice

1/2 cup of honey

3 cloves of garlic crushed finely

2 tbsp of chopped rosemary

1 tbsp of red pepper flakes (optional or use less for less of a bite)

Method

1) Combine, olive oil, lemon juice, honey, garlic, rosemary, flakes together, stir until smooth, poour over chicken wings and let marinade over night

2) Preheat oven to 375, place marinated chicken wings on a greased baking pan, bake for one hour or until wings are well down and golden browned, scrape up pan dripping and pour over the wings, serve hto and enjoy!

2 Responses to “It Has Happended, I have Turned into A Crazy Cat Lady and a Recipe for Ali di Pollo: Honey and Rosemary Rubbed Chicken Wings”

  1. Cynthia January 22, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Congrats on your new kitty. The recipe sound yummy!

  2. sue January 22, 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    Oh….. this combination of ingredients sounds yummy..I try to stay away from wings ( all that delicious fat) so I might try it with boneless strips…maybe even grill them to get a nice char…Thanks for another good recipe…BTW Meow…..:)

I'd love to know your thoughts....

