Time for a Reality Check and a Recipe for Lo Studel Salato con Carciofi e Asparagi

15 Jan

Series-Discussion_1991-ImageReality1

So let’s be honest, my time in Italy was a complete vacation! Sure I may have gone to Italy on the pretense that I was going for school (even the name study abroad implies that’s why I would be going) but with pass/fail classes, a city full of possibilities, and absolutely no work obligations…my life soon turned into to a four month retreat from reality!

I can’t even complain about the few weeks back I have had in America since returning from Italy, ok well that’s a lie I can always find something to complain about (the fact that I am not still in Italy), but I’ll spare you! Most days during break I found myself filling time by reading, watching movies, and doing a whole lot of lounging around…such a tough life.

Ok now before you start to feel to envious know that this is no longer my life. I am officially back to reality counting the days until my next vacation! Back to reality for me means going to school (ughh), work, grocery shopping, walking the mile to the nearest T station and then waiting for it to arrive (if you have taken the T or live in Boston, you understand the torture in doing this), and pretty much generally having absolutely no free time. Plus I recently adopted a cat, a really cute cat, Tartufo (truffle in Italian).

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

The free time I do have has been dedicated towards getting to know my new cat. Like any cat trying to get to know her new home Tartufo is a bit shy, scared, and likes to wander around! Most of the time I end up having a break down thinking I lost her (she tends to blend in) only to realize she’s been under by bed the whole time….hopefully with time I will be less paranoid and e will be more comfortable!

So with the lack of time I haven’t been doing an abundance of cooking or if I am it’s very simple, like the recipe below, a delicious meal which practically takes no time to prepare. Plus it’s a quite popular recipe in Italy! Try it out!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe for Lo Studel Salato

Ingredients

Olive oil

Asparagus with stems removed

1 15 oz can of artichoke hearts, drained and chopped

red pepper flakes

salt and pepper

1 puff pastry crust

Method

1) Begin by pouring olive oil over asparagus, season with salt and pepper and put under the broiler for 10-12 minutes or until asparagus is crispy, let cool and cut into bite size pieces

2) Toss artichoke hearts with olive oil, salt, pepper,and red pepper flakes, combine with asparagus to mix

3) Preheat oven to 350, on a floured surface role out puff pastry dough, place filling on one side of the dough and carefully roll it to form a strudel, be careful to tuck in the ends so the filling doesn’t ooze out while baking.

4) Place strudel on a greased baking sheet and let bake for 20 minutes or until crust is flaky and golden.

One Response to “Time for a Reality Check and a Recipe for Lo Studel Salato con Carciofi e Asparagi”

  1. sue January 15, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

    That sounds yummy..and so easy!! I think I would add a little freshly grated parmesan..I know you can’t do cheese, but that is one of my biggest weaknesses..:)

I'd love to know your thoughts....

