Crostini Di Polenta

10 Jan

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I first tried this dish at an apericena (a dinner consisting only of picky appetizer type foods) while in Italy at Roberta’s house. Just one bite and I was head over heels hooked, these tiny appetizers are packed full of flavor and can be quite delicious.

So a few weeks ago when I decided to make some italian appetizers of my own (after all I had been in Italy and was anxious to show off some of my new and improved cooking skills) I decided this would simply be the recipe to do it with.

The first time I made these they were such a hit that the plate full of crostini had completely emptied in a total of ten minutes, before I even had a chance to try one! Since I had so much success the first time I decided to make them again for my own Apericena type party (this time though I put a few aside for my self, there was no way I was missing out again)! Once again they were a hit!

Recipe for Crostini Di Polenta

Ingredients

Olive oil

1 medium onion finely chopped

4 links of sausage removed from the casing and crumbled

5 large green house tomatoes, seeded within skins removed, chopped finely or one 15 oz can of crushed tomatoes (nothing added, use the can if tomatoes are not in season)

1/4 cup of red wine

Red pepper flakes (optional)

Salt and Pepper

Basil

1 tube of organic polenta premolded (nothing added to it)

Method

1) Begin by adding olive oil to a saute pan over medium heat add in onions, saute until translucent, then add in crumbled sausage and cook until browned

2) Next add in the crushed tomatoes, add in salt and red pepper flakes

3) Add in red wine, let the alcohol cook out, add in basil then reduce sauce and let simmer for 20 minutes

4) Preheat oven to 350 and thinly slice polenta (1/4 inch thick) and place on a greased baking sheet, bake for a total of 20 minutes or until polenta is slight crispy, next turn the oven to broil and broil each side for about three minutes to enhance the crispy polenta crostini

5) Top each polenta round with sauce and serve warm!

3 Responses to “Crostini Di Polenta”

  1. cookingwithcorinna January 10, 2013 at 9:51 am #

    These look great!

  2. lynn January 10, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    these were outstanding.. and will be making them for my dinner guests next weekend…luv u Kait

    • La Cucina Di Kait January 10, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

      Yay, you must let me know how they turn out!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

