Alone In the City

20 Oct

So for those of you who know me you know I am usually an uptight stressed out, perfectionist that typically has to have every little detail of my life planned out, However, surprisingly I am finding that here in Italy I am the complete opposite. Since moving to Italy I have become laidback, stress-free, and living life one day at a time. Don’t believe, well then let me give you an example.

Since applying to the study abroad program in May I knew that the school’s semester calendar included a one week (12 day including weekends) fall break, which students usually used for travel. I fantasized about traveling to Greece or Turkey somewhere exotic and beautiful. However, I decided to wait until I was in Italy where I would have the opportunity to meet potential travel mates to book my fall break vacation. When my Dad suggested he would like to visit during my break, I persuaded him to come earlier explaining to him that I would be busy traveling. Then once I arrived in Italy (and fell in love) I decided I didn’t want to leave for break, my new plan was to travel within Italy over break. I even looked up train tickets and made a list of the top places I would want to go. I was planning on going down to Lecce, which is a small city in the south of Italy along the Mediterranean Sea. In Lecce we have close friends who expressed that they would be more than happy to keep me up for a few days. So My new plan was to spend the first part of break in the South of Italy, then come home to Florence for a bit of rest and recovery, then head to the north and spend the last weekend in Como with my cousins who live there.

So although around me all my friends were scurrying around to book cheap flights, arrange hostel stays, and find travel mates, I sat on the sideline feeling no need to actually book anything, after all I had a plan and in my opinion that was half the battle. “Kait what are you doing on break” was a regular conversation starter. “not sure, traveling around Italy I think” I would reply nonchalantly.

Than about two weeks before break I decided to look up train tickets and was shocked to find the prices had risen considerably and suddenly spending all this money for a weekend getaway didn’t seem like such a good idea, then disaster struck last week which in turn decided my fate (my money was taken and then I became sick), the idea of traveling without any cash when I felt miserably and was constantly having coughing fits now sounded like the worst possible idea.

So although I still had no fall break plans I still felt no anxiety, something would work out I thought. Looking back now I am not exactly sure what I thought would work out ….but it is now officially the start of fall break and other than a weekend trip to Como booked for the end of break I still have no plans. On a high note my money was reimbursed and I am feeling much better, so that’s a positive thing!

So although I am the only person in my apartment and possibly the only Florence study abroad student possibly left in Florence ( I have been abandoned by my peers for London, Paris, and Spain), but still I am surprisingly still not overly worried or lonely (well it is day one). Other than a few errands (a trip to get my Haircut, a pharmacy visit for a Neosporin like cream, and a trip to the public library to get a library card) I have nothing planned, but I can assure you I will not spend my break laying around in my apartment feeling bad for myself. No, instead I am trying to be positive and think of this as an opportunity to finally have some of my own adventures (as if my life has been dull here)….so stay tuned for a week of blog posts hopefully filled with stories, adventures, and fun!

One Response to “Alone In the City”

  1. Franco October 20, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    There’s plenty of non-food related items to do also. For example, you can go to the “uffizzi” museum-one of the greatest in the world.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

