The Honeymoon Period Might Have Ended, but I am Still in Love with Italy

8 Oct

So after living in Italy for a month and a half now, life here is beginning to feel less like a vacation and more like a reality, unfortunately with this reality comes life’s daily hassles and headaches.

After explaining in a calm manner with what I thought was well argued points, I explained to my Dad that I had no intention of returning to the U.S., instead I wanted to finish my studies here, go to an Italian culinary school, and start a life living in Florence (a seemingly good plan, I think you would agree) however, my Dad countered with a simple warning. He told me that there would come a time when I was no longer in the novice, discovery stage (the stage where I am wowed and amazed by everything in Italy) eventually he said reality would begin to set in and I would miss the reliability, and effectiveness that I had grown accustom to living in the U.S.A. By this he meant stores/restaurants which don’t close down on Sunday, electricity that doesn’t shut off just because three things are plugged in at the same time while the washer is running, showers which don’t turn the bathroom into a lake, and internet networks which  regularly cannot connect to the internet for days at a time.

The current obstacle I am dealing with this week is the lack of internet. It has been five days since my apartment has had internet. Although we have tried just about everything (trying to connect to un secure networks, unplugging and re-plugging in the router, shutting off and turning on our computers)…nothing seems to work. I have even called the department of housing several times only to be told, that these things happen in Italy…and nothing can be done.

So although I find living without internet an unbearable task which I hope none of you have to experience I am trying to stay optimistic. So on the positive side, although we have no internet, I also have one less distraction which means I have more time to study which is a very good thing since midterms are coming up just next week (YIKES!)

That’s my other current obstacle, trying to stay focused on school, when I am surrounded in a bustling city filled with opportunity which has a way of enticing me (after all walking around the center of Florence while enjoying a gelato is way better than sitting at home in a sea of books and studying for my business classes) however, it looks like whether I find it fun or not I will be dedicating myself to studying all this week, after all it is crunch time and since I have barley cracked a book since I have been in Italy (it’s not my fault that I was under the impression that study abroad would be a four month vacation) I do have a lot to catch up on!

Another huge obstacle is the fact that things in Europe are very expensive, but also very appealing, making it even harder to try to restrain myself from spending. I find myself running out of money quicker than originally expected, which is quite a scary feeling, of course as a foreign student here, there is no way I can work or try to earn some money while abroad, so the only thing it seems to do is to watch my bank account slowly empty out!

So although reality has set in, I am still stern and determined with my decision to stay in Italy (sorry Mom and Dad, but I have no plans of ever coming home). There are something’s here in Italy which absolutely blow the U.S.A. right out of the water….the most important item being, the food!

Today I made Peperonata Rustica, a delicious red pepper stew, ideal for spreading on top of crispy Italian bread or using as a pasta sauce! It was simple and easy too!

I also made Caponata a famous Sicilian dish also idea for layering on top of bread.

It’s the small things like a good meal, that keep my spirits here high and make dealing with everything else just a little bit easier.

3 Responses to “The Honeymoon Period Might Have Ended, but I am Still in Love with Italy”

  1. Franco October 8, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Great post and I almost feel sorry for you. Enjoy your stay, then get you butt home and finish school. Love Dad

  2. Our Adventure in Croatia October 20, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    I love peperonata, your picture looks just like the one my grandma used to make. Sweet peppers mmmmhhhh 🙂

    • La Cucina Di Kait October 21, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      it’s so delicious, isn’t it?

I'd love to know your thoughts....

