Goodbye America, Hello Italy…Or should I say Ciao: My Final American Breakfast Recipe

23 Aug

The day has finally come, I AM LEAVING FOR ITALY TODAY!

Lets just say that at the current time my emotions are a bit high and very unstable, I experience feeling of eagerness and excitement followed by feelings of anxiety…but this is all normal, right?

Most of all I am nervous for my layover in Germany, I have exactly an hour and a half to get off the plane navigate through the airport and board my next flight, not a lot of time if you ask me…mostly I picture myself missing my flight entirely and sitting in the corner somewhere crying while trying to comfort myself by gorging on wienerschnitzel…not a pretty thought and one which I am trying to ignore and put out of my head (this is a prime example of the anxiety I was telling you about)!

Ok lets try to stay positive here, I am going to Italy for fourth months, wohoo (these are the positive, excited emotions I was telling you about earlier)! Not only is this a good thing for me but it’s a good thing for you too, because I plan to post unique Italian Recipes, Authentic Foodie Finds, and Delicious Restaurant Reviews! I am taking two Italian cooking classes while in Italy, so prepare yourself for some great new recipes!

But until then enjoy this last (Americanized) recipe as my parting gift to you!

Ingredients

1 1/2 tbsp of coco powder

1 cup of almond meal

1 tsp of ginger

1 tbsp of cinnamon

1 tsp of ground nutmeg

1 tsp of baking soda

1 sweet potato peeled and sliced

2 tbsp of raw honey/maple syrup

2 eggs

1/2 cup of applesauce

Method

1) begin by preheating oven to 350, microwave sweet potato for about 5 minutes or until soft, carefully remove hot sweet potato from microwave and either mash the flesh with a potato masher or fork, or add to a food processor and pulse, once flesh is smooth and creamy set aside

2) In a mixing bowl combine all dry ingredients

3) In a separate mixing bowl combine all wet ingredients, add the wet ingredients to dry ingredients, add in sweet potato, combine all ingredients to form a smooth batter

4) Place liners in muffin tin and scoop in batter about 3/4 of the way, bake for 20 minutes or until muffins are thoroughly cooked through!

2 Responses to “Goodbye America, Hello Italy…Or should I say Ciao: My Final American Breakfast Recipe”

  1. Lauren September 17, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    how much cooked sweet potato did you use in cups? Even a rough estimate would help. Where I live Sweet Potatoes come in different sizes and tend to be very big

    • La Cucina Di Kait September 24, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      I would say about 2 large or 3 medium, about 2 cups!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

