Breakfast Frittata

15 Aug

So I am sitting in an empty packed up apartment bored out of my mind! In less than 5 hours I will be sitting in class preparing to take my final exam, then I’ll be headed back to CT for a week of R&R and then it’s on to Florence for four months!

How excited, you must be thinking, right? Yes I am truly excited but I am also beginning to feel a bit nervous and a lot overwhelmed.

I have exactly seven day to unpack all my belongings from Boston, finish running last minute errands, somehow fit enough clothing to make it through the final hot summer days, cool fall, and the beginning of winter into one suitcase (yikes), and become fluent in Italian.

Let’s be honest it’s definitely going to take some kind of miracle to get this all done, especially the last one!

I always knew I would study abroad in Italy. As a little girl I always listened to my Dad talk about his two years spent In Florence, He spoke about the delicious food, the relaxing lifestyle, the breathtaking views, and the loyal friendships he had formed. Then a few years ago I finally got the chance to experience Italy for myself. I tried delicious culinary concoctions, practiced my Italian, and of course fell in love with the Country, particularly Florence and I vowed to return.

Now here I am a week away from my return trip!

I always imagined that when I returned to Italy I would return as fluent Italian speaker, dressed fashionably, and as an adventurous eater ready to try anything, however, it looks like that wont be the case.

First off I am not at all Fluent in Italian, despite my efforts to study hard for the past few months I am most certain that my poor pronunciation and likeliness to ask what? anytime someone speaks to me in Italian will certainly give me away as a American tourist.

As far as the fashionable clothes go, well I am trying to bring my most fashionable outfits but the lack of space in my suitcase and need for practicality is making this a much more difficult task than I thought, for example do I decide to bring my trendy black boots, which are cute and can be worn with many outfits even though they take up a lot of space and I will be forgoing room which could otherwise be filled with at least three folded shirts? Decisions decisions.

No Italian fantasy would be complete without dreaming of the heavenly pizza and pasta dishes which Italy is known for, but with my recent dedication to a Paleo lifestyle, that’s just another fantasy i’ll have to get out of my head.

Okay may be I am being a bit pessimistic, after all I am going to Italy, I’ll learn the language by living day in and out with the locals, i’ll have to be creative about the clothes situation and find different ways of wearing the same things over and over again (I’ll just bring lots of accessories), and the I am sure Italians serve other things besides pasta and pizza, like fish, and meat, and fresh vegetables. See I am feeling better already!

Ingredients

1 cup of chopped broccoli

1 cup of chopped vidalia onion

1/2 cup of chopped peppers (yellow and red)

6 slices of bacon

8 eggs beaten

black pepper

1/4 cup of chopped green onion

1 tsp of olive oil + 1 tsp of olive oil

1 tsp of red pepper flakes (optional)

Method

1)Preheat oven to 350 and begin by sauteing onions in a skillet, add broccoli, and zucchini and saute until mixture until fragrant and vegetables become softened, once done remove skillet from hear and set veggies aside in a side bowl

2) In the same skillet fry up the bacon over medium to high heat, make sure bacon is nice and crispy, once crisp on both side remove from skillet wrap in paper towel and microwave for an additional 20 seconds to remove excess oil, using your hands crumble bacon and set aside

3) Add vegetables back to saute pan and pour in the whisked eggs, add in black pepper and scallion, and any other desired herbs or seasonings

4) Place oven safe skillet in the oven and bake for about 15- 20 minutes or until egg has puffed up around vegetables, turn on the broiler and keep oven door open broil frittata for 3-5 minutes until outside is crispy!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

