Sunday Supper: Pesto Shrimp Saute

12 Aug

Can it be that I am for once this weekend actually sitting, relaxing, without anything to do? Well yes it appears to be so!

So your probably curious, what exactly have I been up to this weekend that has made me desperate to enjoy a few relaxing minutes to myself. Well in all reality I am a bit embarrassed to admit I’ve spent the entire weekend hanging indoors and studying…lame I know, but it simply had to be done, because the only thing or should I say things separating me from my two week reprieve from school is a presentation, one lengthy paper, and two finals!

Ok so before you get ahead of yourself and starting thinking I am a psycho¬† nerd, let me clear some things up, I am not a nerd and maybe I was exaggerating a bit I haven’t been studying the entire weekend, i’ve also been packing up my Boston apartment (a tedious and exhausting task), cleaning out the fridge by doing a bit of cooking, and of course wasting endless hours watching YouTube videos, there you see i’ve been engaging in non nerdy activities!

But enough is enough I am forgetting my responsibilities and allowing myself some relaxing time, after all I think I deserve it, right? I am especially done looking at those books, yup I am done studying, at this point you either know it or you don’t (hopefully I know it), you agree with me right, you think this is a good plan?

Well because at this moments I here no objections I will take it as a sign, my feet are going up and my book is being opened, let the relaxing begin!

Ingredients

4 ounces Raw shrimp, peeled and deveined

3/4 cup of homemade pesto (check out my recipe here)

1 large onion thinly sliced

three plum tomatoes seeded and chopped

1 1/2 tbsp of olive oil + 1 tbsp

a pinch of red pepper flakes

salt and pepper

Method

1) In a saute pan heat olive oil over medium heat, add in onions and plum tomatoes and saute until onions are fragrant and tomatoes are soft, add in red pepper flakes

2) In a separate saute pan add the remaining 1 tbsp of olive oil over medium heat, add shrimp and saute for about 3 minutes on each side, make sure they are pink

3) Add shrimp to the vegetable mixture, add in pesto and stir so that the mixture is well coated and flavorful, add salt and pepper as needed and enjoy!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

