Friday Features: 1,2,3 Chicken Sausage and Sauteed Broccolini

10 Aug

I swore I would never ever eat sausage….lesson learned never say never!

A few weeks ago I was at an authentic Italian restaurant, my parents began their meal by splitting an appetizer of sausage and broccoli rabe,

“try it” they urged me!

“No way” I said, disgusted by the whole sausage making process.

“it’s homemade, and you said you were going to be open minded” They all to quickly reminded me

“fine” I sighed, I took a bite and found it was surprisingly quite delicious it was very flavorful and the combination of sausage paired with the sauteed garlicky brocolli rabe made for an amazing meal!

Staring into my fridge today I was tormented with the daily question of what to eat for lunch, usually I have a big salad (topped with carrots, peppers, avocados, raw nuts, chopped apples, and grilled chicken), however the one problem was that I just happened to be out of carrots, peppers, avocados, raw nuts, and apples) and the idea of eating grilled chicken and lettuce didn’t seem to be to appealing of an option. Rummaging through my fridge I found broccolini! Remembering my delicious meal from a few weeks ago I was inspired to replicate the idea and substituting broccolini for the broccoli rabe and organic chicken sausage for the pork sausage.

Delicious if I do say so myself!

Ingredients

4 pieces of sausage

2 bunches of broccolini washed

1/2 cup of water

1/4 cup of olive oil

1/2 cup of thinly sliced onions

2 cloves of garlic sliced

a pinch of red pepper flakes

Method

1) Add 1/2 cup of water to a pot over medium heat and steam broccolini, drain and rinse with cold water, to stop broccolini from cooking, set aside

2) Add olive oil to a saute pan over medium heat, add in onions and caramelize,  add in garlic cloves, and broccolini, and red pepper flakes and saute, remove from heat and set aside

3) Return saute pan to heat and add 1 tbsp of olive oil if necessary, add in sausage and brown on all sides and remove from heat, serve sausage over sauteed broccolini.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

