Sunday Supper: Honey Mustard Roasted Chicken a Tribute to the End of my Obsessive Olympic Life

5 Aug

So I don’t know if you’ve been watching the Olympics but they are absolutely exhausting and draining to keep up with!  As a former swimmer myself I am a big fan of watching the swimming and an even bigger Michael Phelps fan (let’s just say my love for him may border an obsessive level). Each morning I would wake up at 5:00 a.m. to watch preliminary heats of swimming events live from London, I would then go back to sleep for two hours before heading to the pool myself and channeling my inner Phelps to make it through a workout!
Around 11:00 a.m. I return home and usually turn on NBC while I get ready (usually they show the preliminary heats of swimming on TV with commentary)! I then eat lunch and change into my ‘I love Michael Phelps t-Shirt’ and slip on my lucky bracelet  before heading to school around 1:00 p.m. My class doesn’t begin until 5:00 p.m. and I usually leave an hour early, but with the unreliability of Boston public transportation and the live streaming of the swimming finals ending between 4:00 – 4:15 I don’t like to chance being late, so Instead I arrive at school four hours early head to an empty classroom where I can yell and cheer without judgement and watch the swimming finals live from London!

I then endure 3 hours of boring lecture. I of course pretend to pay attention while skimming through news articles related to the swimming performances I have just witnessed. I have also become quite fond of Twitter in the past few days as it is a excellent tool for staying up to date with the Olympians and news relating to them

By 8:00 I am home and Immediately turn on the t.v. to watch the the prime time Olympics features, although I do enjoy watching the other sports I really own care about swimming, I watch the swimming finals for a second time so that I can hear the commentators and watch the on deck interviews ( a feature not shown on the live streams) Of course though because Michael Phelps is a huge draw NBC likes to tempt us all by showing little clips of swimming about once every forty five minutes, so most nights I don’t head to bed until 12:00 a.m. These past eight days I have been completely useless, other then watching the Olympics and becoming totally melted and entranced by Michael Phelps last ever Olympic performance, I have done nothing.

So although I am sad that swimming is over and even more sad that Michael Phelps has ended his career as a swimmer (wow I am getting a bit choked up here) I am happy to finally get some rest and return to a normal, obsession free life.

Ingredients

3lbs of chicken thighs

1 cup of spicy brown mustard

1 1/2 tbsp of honey

2 cloves of garlic minced

32 oz of carrots

1 large onion sliced

2 tbsp of olive oil salt and pepper

6 slices of bacon cooked and crumbled

1/2 tbsp of fresh herbs (oregano, thyme, or rosemary)

Method

1) Preheat oven to 400, wash chicken and pat dry, in a bowl combine garlic, mustard, and honey, marinade chicken for thirty minutes

2) Combine olive oil salt and pepper together, add in carrots and onions together in a large bowl, pour the carrot and onion mixture onto a baking sheet, place marinaded chicken on top and let roast for one hour or until chicken is thoroughly cooked and slightly browned

3) Remove chicken from oven and let cool, place carrots, onions, and a piece of chicken on each plate and top with fresh herbs and crumbled bacon

One Response to “Sunday Supper: Honey Mustard Roasted Chicken a Tribute to the End of my Obsessive Olympic Life”

  1. sybaritica August 8, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    Almost like my dinner tonight except I am using pork… I love your method, though!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

