Foodie Pen Pal for July

31 Jul

So it’s that time of the month again, the time I get to tell you all about the box filled with goodies that was delivered to my front door!

Although I have been involved in the foodie pen pal program for five months now there’s still an element of surprise when I open my door to see a package, usually I am so anxious and excited that I don’t even bother with scissors or a knife to neatly open the box! Instead I use my hands and aggressively rip through the box in an effort to get to the good stuff!

I started this program as a vegan, which was challenging enough for my pen pals but now as a paleo it’s even more challenging. When my pen pals first reaches out to inquire about my likes and dislikes I usually send them an email that typically first tells them not to panic, I then go in for the kill and tell them I can’t eat, sugar, grains (yes even gluten free grains), soy, dairy, or peanuts, or anything processed! Then I go into some detail about what I can have!

To my surprise I have not yet met a pen pal who I have scarred off, instead they seem excited for the challenge!

So I know your dying to know what I got, or maybe your not, but either way I am going to tell you, so just pretend you care!

My Pen Pal Sarah sent me a great packaged which contained a container of raw almonds (which I used to make delicious Roasted Almond Butter) which I then put in the cute blue dip bowls she gave me! I also got a container of Pistachios (which I have been snacking on non stop)! Sarah also sent a box of Tazo Passion tea which is amazing, I’ve been chilling it and drinking it in the cute cup she gave me (it’s very summery), she also sent over a can of Black cherry green tea, which I haven’t yet tried but I am quite intrigued to try (does that sound amazing or what?) Then last but not least she sent over a box of all natural blueberry pomegranate fruit strips, I haven’t tried these yet either but with a winning combination of blueberry and pomegranate there is no doubt in my mind that these would be anything less than amazing!

All in all I’d say Sarah did a pretty amazing job, wouldn’t you?

Are you intrigued do you what to learn more about this food pen pal program, well allow me to inform you! Each month food blogger/readers and food lovers participate in the program. On the 5th of each month you get an email with your assigned foodie pen pal, it is your duty to find out as much as possible about your pen pal, their food preferences, allergies, where they live and then create a box filled with delicious treats specifically for them. The fun part is creating the perfect box for your pen pal, you can incorporate foods specific to your geographic location that your pen pal has never tried before or you can make them a special home made treat…..the only rule is you can spend no more than $15, an elements which adds to the challenge!

Each box is mailed out on the 15th of the month and at the end of each month everyone blogs about the goodies they received! The person you create a box for is not the same person who sends you a box, so it’s a super great way to meet fellow foodies and bloggers Wanna Learn More? Click Here!

2 Responses to “Foodie Pen Pal for July”

  1. Colleen August 2, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Hey lady! I was just stopping by to tell you that I nominated you for an award on my site. You don’t have to do it, no hard feelings, I know these things take up a lot of time. http://thechocolatemile.com/2012/08/and-the-winner-is/

    • La Cucina Di Kait August 2, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

      Colleen,
      Thanks so much, how are you doing?

I'd love to know your thoughts....

