Summertime Kale Avocado Salad

30 Jul

Doesn’t it just seem that music has a way of making everything better. There seems to be a song for just every emotion that your feeling and it comforting to know that somewhere someone wrote the very lyrics which seem to somehow sum up everything going on in your life entirely, I guess it’s nice to know were not alone in how we feel.

I use to want to be a singer, a life of fame and fortune…fine by me, the one problem of course was that I was lacking the talent. However, In my seven year old mind I had a great voice, in fact in my opinion when I sang in the shower, the resemble between my voice and Britney Spear’s voice was uncanny. However, after several pleas from my parents to stop singing, reality finally set in and I realized maybe my dream of becoming a singer wasn’t quite so realistic.

So now that I have accepted my lack of talent and I am quite content listening to others with true talent belt it out. I find that music helps me to focus so I pretty much always have my music playing, I listen to my Ipod as I sit down to write a paper, I play my music when I take a shower, I even listen to music when I swim (thanks to my waterproof MP3 player), and of course I listen to music while I cook.

Although this recipe is quite simple and easy to prepare the tedious task of washing, drying, and chopping ingredients can always be a bit time consuming and frankly a bit boring, So I always rely on music to liven up the otherwise tortuous task!

Here’s what I listened to today

Cough Syrup by Young  the Giant

If I Ever Feel Better by Phoenix

Loud Pipes by Ratatat

Taxi Cab by Vampire Weekend

Swimming in the Flood by Passion Pit

Swing Tree by Discovery

What do you listen to?

Ingredients

5 cups of roughly chopped kale

Flesh from 2 ripe avocados

1 orange pepper chopped

1/2 red onion minced

1 tsp of minced garlic

1/4 cup of lemon juice

2 tbsp of olive oil

1 tsp of cilantro chopped

sea salt and fresh ground pepper

Method

1) In a mixing bowl combine avocados and kale, use your hands to soften the avocado, add in onions peppers, garlic, salt and pepper cilantro, lemon, juice, and olive oil

2) refrigerate mixture for 1-2 hours

3) serve this refreshing salad chilled or at room temperature

2 Responses to “Summertime Kale Avocado Salad”

  1. givenchy bags July 31, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    I also run a blog on acne can disappear now and I hope you come visit! Will appreciate some comments haha..

  2. Cristiane July 31, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    you post is very well elaborated, it interested me a lot, thanks for it.http://www.casaemail.com.br

I'd love to know your thoughts....

