Roasted Almond Butter

25 Jul

Have you ever made your own nut butter before? If you have you know it can be the most frustrating and rewarding experience. There comes a point when making your own nut butter when panic and regret begin to set it. For about five minutes you will notice that your nuts have turned into a fine grounded powder and absolutely nothing else happening despite the fact that you have follow the relatively simply directions precisely. You begin to regret using all those nuts (after all they weren’t cheap) and now  you begin to panic, what are you supposed to do with this fine ground powder? But trust me it gets better so continue pulsing and then suddenly you notice the nuts turning into a paste and then at last they thin out and you have yourself a delicious homemade nut butter, see that wasn’t so bad now was it?

Ingredients

4 cups of raw almonds

Method

1) Preheat oven to 350, lay out almonds flat on a baking sheet and roast for about 15 minutes or until fragrant, let cool about two minutes

2) Pour nuts in food processor and pulse on high for about 5-8 minutes, stop every few minutes to scrape down the sides

3) Beware this is where the panic sets in, you think you did something wrong, maybe you need to add something else, but DON’t just keep processing

4) Once you notice that the mixture has become a thick paste process for another 2-4 minutes depending on your preferences, I prefer a smooth and creamy consistency so I will continue to process it for an additional 4 minutes

5) Spoon out the almond butter and store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Enjoy, I like my almond butter with pear slices and topped with cinnamon!

5 Responses to “Roasted Almond Butter”

  1. Darlene July 26, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    this is nice post!http://www.divulgaemail.com

  2. Eric Nathaniel Wilson July 31, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  3. Search April 1, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

    Hey, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your website in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Homepage - July 30, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 72614 more Infos: lacucinadikait.com/2012/07/25/roasted-almond-butter/ […]…

  2. Foodie Pen Pal for July « La Cucina Di Kait - July 31, 2012

    […] sent me a great packaged which contained a container of raw almonds (which I used to make delicious Roasted Almond Butter) which I then put in the cute blue dip bowls she gave me! I also got a container of Pistachios […]

I'd love to know your thoughts....

