Chicken in a Slow Roasted Tomato Sauce over Sauteed Spinach

23 Jul

So In theory a day off with nothing to do sounds like a dream come true, right? The truth of the matter is though that days like these are unbearable, time just seems to stand still making the day seem like it’s never going to end.

Today was that kind of day for me. At first I looked forwards to the idea of a day free from responsibilities, I brainstormed possible ways to spend my day, I could go thrift store shopping, I could go to a musuem, I could take advantage of a groupon deal and get a half priced tarot card reading,  I could catch up on my reading, I could start studying Italian(seeing as my trip to Italy is less than a month away), really the possibilities were endless.

But did I do any of these things, of course not, that was all talk the type of things you say your going to do but don’t actually ever plan on doing.

The first part of my day was quite productive, I went to the gym, had a good workout, and then went grocery shopping and picked up some much needed food supplies. I was shocked when I walked in the door at 1:00 p.m., time was flying by, and then it sat still for the rest of the day.

I studied for about five minutes before I decided the material wasn’t interesting ( I have a midterm coming up so in hindsight maybe I should have devoted a little more time to studying, but oh well!) I wasted sometime watching a half hour worth of YouTube videos, than that got old quickly too, I took a nap, I read a few chapters in a book, that ironically had a storyline that doesn’t seem to be going anywhere either.

Finally at 4:00 p.m. I declared myself officially bored! But that’s when the genius idea struck me, I would cook, I would make something that takes a long time to cook that I usually don’t have time to make! Wallah!

This is a delicious recipe it is also a very timely recipe as the cook and prep time is a bit lengthy, however, the delicious end result is so worth it!

Ingredients

4 cups of sliced tomatoes (I used a mixture of cherry tomatoes and plum tomatoes)

6 cloves of whole peeled garlic

1 1/2 cup of thinly sliced sweet onion

1/2 cup of olive oil

1 1/2 tsp of oregano

1 tsp of balsamic vinegar

2 lbs of chicken breast

1/4 cup of sliced black olives

1 tbsp of olive oil

4 cups of steam spinach

1 tbsp of olive oil

a pinch of red pepper flakes

salt and pepper to season

1 tbsp of chopped basil for garnish

Method

1) Preheat oven to 300

2) Toss, tomatoes, onions, and garlic cloves with olive oil, salt, pepper, and oregano, evenly spread mixture in a baking pan and slow roast for one hour or until tomatoes are soft and onion are cooked through

3) Let tomato mixture cool before adding the tomatoes and pan drippings to a food processor, add in balsamic vinegar and pulse for 45-60 seconds ( mixture should still have a coarsely pureed consistency), set sauce aside

4) Place chicken on a flat even surface cover with parchment paper and pound with a meat mallet until chicken is about 1/4 inches thick, in a skillet heat 1 tbsp of olive oil over medium to high heat, place chicken in skillet and cook until chicken is slightly browned on each side about 6 minutes total

5) Add in the tomato sauce to the saute pan and lower heat to a simmer, cover the pan and let the chicken simmer in the tomato sauce for about 30 minutes, add in sliced olives and let simmer for another 5 to 10 minutes

6) Fix steamed spinach by adding olive oil, red pepper flakes and salt and pepper

7) Place spinach on a plate and top with chicken and a heaping ladle full of tomato sauce, garnish with freshly chopped basil and enjoy!

7 Responses to “Chicken in a Slow Roasted Tomato Sauce over Sauteed Spinach”

  1. Sandra (@SECooking) July 23, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    Great recipe! I like the idea chicken with sauce over spinach! Good luck on your midterm.

  2. Tina August 1, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    That looks and sounds delicious!

    Thanks for sharing!
    -Tina from http://ohsnapletseat.wordpress.com/

  3. URL August 2, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    I surely did not recognize that. Learnt a thing new nowadays! Thanks for that. 272692

  4. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will return yet again since I book marked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide
    others.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. URL - August 1, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: lacucinadikait.com/2012/07/23/chicken-in-a-slow-roasted-tomato-sauce-over-sauteed-spinach/ […]…

  2. Rep Guide - August 8, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: lacucinadikait.com/2012/07/23/chicken-in-a-slow-roasted-tomato-sauce-over-sauteed-spinach/ […]…

  3. Chicken in a Slow Roasted Tomato Sauce Over Sauteed Spinach | CrossFit Syracuse - February 2, 2013

    […] recipe is from LaCucinaDiKait.com and was recommended by members Michelle & Tony Brooks. It looks delicious, doesn’t […]

I'd love to know your thoughts....

