Fresh Guacamole

21 Jul

I walked out of my apartment today intending on running some much needed errands around the city, however after reaching the end of my street and already feeling the sweat trickle down my back I thought better of my decision and decided the errands could wait. I returned to my apartment which offered a slight relief from the humidity and the strong sun and proceeded to sit in front of my fan for the next half hour! As you can tell I am not a fan of the heat. So beware, unless I am in a nice cool pool or lounging on a beach with my toes in the cold ocean water, I advise you to keep your distance, I tend to become become, tired, cranky, and irritated in the heat!

My produce doesn’t seem to be fairing too nicely against the heat either, especially my avocados, which have quickly become soft. So what is one to do with 3 very soft avocados, make guacamole…..DUH!

There’s nothing quite like homemade guacamole, in fact there’s really no excuse for not making your own, it’s easy to make, doesn’t contain any preservatives, and it’s so much less expensive!

This delicious and fresh tasting guacamole turned out to be the mostly perfect satisfying thing on a hot day such as today, I recommend you serve it chilled from the fridge and enjoy it with fresh vegetables and as an accompaniment to grilled meat!

Ingredients

Fresh from 3 ripe avocados

1 greenhouse tomato, seeded and diced

1/2 cup of minced yellow onion

2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and minced

1 clove of minced garlic

1 tsp of lime juice

1 tbsp of fresh cilantro chopped

1 tsp of chilli power

a dash of salt and black pepper

Method

1) Add the avocados to a mixing bowl and using a potato masher, mash the avocado, add in all other ingredients and continue to mash to combine

2) Cover bowl with saran wrap and place mixture in the fridge and let sit for at least 1 hour, serve cold or at room temperature!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

