Coffee, Cocoa Rubbed Steak

2 Jul

I was engaging in one of my favorite activities (wasting my day by starting at pictures of food on pinterest) when I came across a delicious looking photo of a perfectly seared steak. The caption under the photo read coffee rubbed steak, intrigued I clicked through to find the recipe. A spiced rub made out of coffee grounds and dried spices…..yum , I consulted trusty google for more ideas and was shocked to find there were pages and pages of recipes, apparently this is quite a popular item! I clicked on one recipe and found it also incorporated cocoa powder, yum, now I was definitely trying this. I stashed away a few recipes for inspiration and put “coffee, cocoa rubbed steaks” on my food to do list – a list of recipes and dishes I want to try and then I forgot all about it. Because honestly don’t we all just write lists to forget about them…I don’t know about you but I love making lists, I make grocery lists, I make packing lists, I make life long to – do lists, and then I stash them away “somewhere safe” and completely forget about them and don’t even bother looking at them……sigh!

So how did I remember this steak recipe?….I am getting there, be patient! Well a few weeks ago during a slow day a work I once against decided to browse through the food photos on pinterest when I came across another delicious and inspiring recipe, I emailed myself a link and once home I added it to my food to do list, only  to realize that was a whole slew of recipes on my food to list which I had completely forgotten about! Determined to end this vicious circle, I decided to print this paper out and place it on my fridge, the very next day I makes these steaks!

Ingredients

2 medium to large sized steak

2 tbsp of ground coffee grounds

1/2 tbsp of cocoa powder

1/2 tbsp of garlic powder

1/2 tbsp of onion powder

1 tsp of ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp of Cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp of ground ginger

1 – 1/2 tbsp of coconut oil

Method

1) Add all spices together in a bowl and thoroughly combine, rub spice mixture into steaks

2) Add coconut oil to a saute pan over high heat, place steaks in the saute pan and sear on both sides, reduce heat and place lid over saute pan and cook steaks to your desired preference

2 Responses to “Coffee, Cocoa Rubbed Steak”

  1. Albina July 30, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    information was very great to read.http://www.casaemail.com.br

  2. Adrize July 31, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    thanks for the great post!http://www.boliche.com.br/email.htm

I'd love to know your thoughts....

