Middle Eastern Shredded Chicken with a Garlicky Tahini Sauce

25 Jun

There’s a Middle Eastern restaurant in my hometown which makes the most amazing food! Being a Middle Eastern obsessed, foodie, I have frequented several Middle Eastern restaurants but never have I found a comparable restaurant. The small hole in the wall restaurant which comfortably seats a total of 12 people offers an authentic flavorful selection of choices, served fast, and priced inexpensively….in my eyes there is no rival!

So because I am now living in Boston and have been unsuccessful in finding a replacement middle eastern restaurant, I decided to get creative by trying to replicated my favorite middle eastern specialty. I was inspired by the Chicken Shawarma plate, a favorite entree of mine which is traditionally served over a bed of romaine lettuce with a flavorful tahini sauce drizzled on top. Obviously my recipe differs a bit, the one main difference is I don’t own a stand up rotisserie, so I opted to use the kitchen equipment I did have (a slow cooker) while trying my best to incorporate the bold middle eastern flavors! The result……not too bad if I do say so my self!

Ingredients for Chicken

1 1/2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken

2 tbsp of lemon juice

1 tbsp of olive oil

1 tsp of ground cumin

1/2 tbsp of curry powder

1/2 tsp of cloves

1 clove of minced garlic

Ingredients for Sauce

1/2 cup of tahini (sesame seed paste)

1/4 cup of lemon juice

3 cloves of garlic minced

1/4- 1/2 cup of water

1 tbsp of olive oil

A pinch of sea salt

Method

1) Add all ingredients for the chicken in a slow cooker, put on high and slow cook for 3-4 hours or until chicken is tender and falling a part, once chicken is through cooking use two forks to shred chicken, let sit in the flavorful reserved liquid for an additional 10- 20 minutes before setting chicken aside

2) In the mean time prepare your tahini sauce by placing all ingredients in the foods processor, pulse on high (about 3 minutes) until you have a thinned out sauce (feel free to add additional olive oil or water as needed if you sauce is too thick) Refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving

3) This dish is very flavor and can be served numerous ways, over sauteed vegetables (such as sauteed spinach or kale), over mashed sweet potatoes, or my personal favorite over fresh greens, any way you choose your sure to love it! Enjoy!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

