Pumpkin Pie Muffins

21 Jun

I was in the mood for a treat the other day, and decided to buy a can of pumpkin puree, I was planning on making a crust-less pumpkin pie (yes I realize it is summer, not exactly the ideal season for pumpkin pie, but pumpkin happens to be one of my favorite ingredients, so don’t judge me!)

I didn’t really have a recipe to follow so I just added ingredients which I thought would enhance the bitter pumpkin to a sweet and spicy pumpkin pie. I added coconut milk, nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, ginger, and honey, yet after sampling the batter I was shocked to find it was quite sweet enough, it still had a bitter taste……not quite the pumpkin pie flavor I had hoped for.

I began to frantically look around the kitchen for the one magical ingredient which would somehow be responsible for transforming my bitter pumpkin puree to a delicious and sweetened pumpkin pie! I pretty much tore the kitchen apart trying to find this mystery item! Suddenly I spotted a container of dates, I decided to puree the dates with a bit of coconut milk, honey, and vanilla to make a caramel, that would certainly sweeten up the pumpkin puree! The combination of these ingredients make for an extremely tempting “caramel” sauce which mirror the real think in rich flavor, smooth consistency, and caramel coloring, I almost spooned out the mixture right into my mouth instead of the pumpkin puree.

At last I found my mystery ingredient, the minute I combined the dates with the pumpkin puree the mixture suddenly tasted a lot more like pumpkin pie. I was so proud of how things turned out that I decided to sample the recipe our in muffin form. It took a few attempts but at last I found the perfect combination for these authentic tasting pumpkin pie muffins!

Ingredients

1 15 oz can of pure pumpkin puree

1 1/2 cup of coconut flour

1/2 cup of coconut milk + 2 TBSP

1 tsp of water

1 tsp of vanilla + 1 tsp

1/2 cup of raw honey + 1 tsp

15 chopped dates

1 tsp of baking soda

1 tbsp of pumpkin pie spice,

3 eggs

Method

1) Preheat oven to 350, in a food processor combine dates, 2 tbsp of coconut milk, 1 tsp of water, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1 tsp of honey, combine until mixture become creamy and caramel like both in taste and look, about 10 minutes

2) In a mixing bowl combine pumpkin puree, creamy date caramel, coconut milk,honey, and effs  stir well to combine

3) In a separate bowl combined coconut flour, baking soda, and pumpkin pie spice, add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and continue to mix until all ingredients have been combined, spoon mixture into muffin tins and bake for at least 50 minutes, they could need longer depending on the size of your muffins

One Response to “Pumpkin Pie Muffins”

  1. krimkus June 23, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    I can eat pumpkin any time of year. Why not? It’s so good for you. I’ll bet these muffins are fantastic with coffee.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

