Flourless Tahini Cookies

19 Jun

I was rummaging through my fridge when I found a half opened bottle of Tahini, a staple in my former vegan life when I ate hummus on a regular basis…..sigh!

Luckily for me though tahini is a product which is allowed on the paleo diet seeing as it is simply a paste made from sesame seeds, However, I wasn’t quite sure what exactly to do with my half opened bottle of tahini, the sesame seed paste has a thick consistency similar to that of a nut butter, but it’s definitely not the kind of product that you can simply spread on carrots or celery. have you ever tried  raw tahini, I am not talking about the kind they serve in restaurants which is flavored up with lemon juice, garlic and olive oil, I am talking raw tahini, it is quite bitter, salty and leaves an awful aftertaste, of course this is completely my own opinion and you may find you really like tahini in it’s natural state with nothing added, I may probably trust your judgment in food ever again but  we can just agree to disagree!

Anyways, when I first found this bottle of tahini I immediately thought hummus, I contemplated the idea of making a bean free, paleo friendly hummus, but in the back of my mind I knew there would never be a good enough substitute for my beloved hummus, which i’ll admit did depress me a bit so I decided against the idea! I then thought about making babaganush a delicious creamy smoked eggplant dip, the one problem was I had no eggplant, and honestly at 9:00 p.m. I was exactly keen on the idea of running to the store to buy an eggplant to simply to satisfy a craving. I continued to brainstorm until I remembered  a chocolate chip cookie recipe I had once seen which featured tahini as a main ingredient….I rushed to the computer in hopes of finding the recipe and of course had no luck…isn’t that always the way! I did however come across several gluten free tahini cookie recipes but they all used oats and sugar as main ingredients. Suddenly I got the idea to create a flourless tahini cookie similar to a flourless peanut butter cookies, after all the consistency of the peanut butter isn’t all that different than the consistency of the tahini! After a few trial and error attempts I finally got the recipe down! These cookies were soft and chewy (the two main elements that all good cookies should posses) plus they had a sweet honey flavoring!

Ingredients

1 cup of all natural tahini

1/2 cup of honey

1 egg

1 tbsp of cinnamon

1 tsp of vanilla

2 tbsp of chocolate chips, chopped nuts, or dried fruit (optional)

Method

1) Begin by preheating oven to 350, combines all ingredients in a food processor and pulse on high until you have a thick and creamy batter of course you can also do this by hand, but I am a bit lazy and find the food processor thoroughly mixes ingredients far better than my arm can!

2) Scoop out about batter and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, press down on these cookies as they will not form into perfectly round circles by themselves

3) Bake for 10 minutes, be sure to check the cookies every few minutes as they do bake quite quickly!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

