Lemon Rosemary Chicken

17 Jun

So a few days ago I was in desperate need of some fresh rosemary,the dried stuff just wasn’t cutting it, the flavor just isn’t potent enough in my opinion! I happen to be a bit obsessed with rosemary, I love the flavor and pretty much think it should be added to everything, however I am just starting to realize that not everyone feels the same way, so I try not to over due it too much, especially when creating recipes which I plan to share. My obsession with the potent herb is something I learned to love from my grandma, she equally love rosemary, in fact growing up I remember her adding it to every dish she made regardless of whether the people eating the meal liked it or not…..it’s genetics I can’t be blamed for my love of the herb!

Anyways getting back to my story, so a few days ago I made my weekly trip to Haymarket to stock up on fruits and vegetables. I got home only to realize I never picked up any rosemary….isn’t that  just the worse feeling in the world, when you begin to slightly relax because you are finally home and you begin to unpack only to realize you have forgotten one item, of course this item is always the most important item, the reason you went grocery shopping in the first place, in my case the rosemary was the one ingredient which I was planning my entire meal around, I couldn’t be without it! So now after finally coming home I was forced to go back out and retrieve this one item!

I wasn’t too excited about this, I had been out all morning and was exhausted I had been looking forward to taking an afternoon nap but of course had to put this plan on halt while I now wandered around Boston in search of rosemary. I foolishly wondered if the 7 eleven across the street was now selling fresh herbs…but I decided against inquiring..already knowing the answer. This is the one thing that pretty much stinks about living in the city, you can’t simply jump in a car and quickly get to a grocery store, no, us city folks must walk. Now normally I am not one to complain about walking, I love it, but when you simply want to get somewhere fast, it can really be a bit of a pain!

Regardless I didn’t have much of a choice so I began the mile and a half walk to the nearest grocery store, suddenly on my walk I came across a grassy area covered with tented stands, intrigued I walked over only to discover a small neighborhood farmer market……a sign from GOD! I knew I would definitely be able to find my rosemary here! I started wandering through the tents, surrounding myself In the fragrant sent of fresh produce and homemade baked goods. Surprisingly I wasn’t having much luck finding any sprigs of rosemary…… Finally though I came across a rosemary plant which was already sprouting sprigs of rosemary…without thinking I bought it!

It wasn’t until I got home that I realized that living in a city apartment I didn’t have a backyard to plant this rosemary plant, luckily I do have a small window which I am hoping provides just the right amount of sunlight..However with my now prosperous rosemary plant growing faster than I can keep up with I am determined to use the rosemary as much as possible before I accidentally kill the plant, so be warned!

Ingredients

11/2 tbsp of coconut oil

6 chicken breasts

1 onion thinly sliced

3 cloves of garlic minced

3/4 cup of chicken stock

1/4 cup of lemon juice

1 tsp of red pepper flakes

black pepper

2 lemons sliced

1/2 cup of artichoke hearts halved

1 tbsp of chopped rosemary ( I have a slight obsession with rosemary but feel free to use less if you’d like)

Method

1) Place chicken on a flat even surface cover with parchment paper and pound with a meat mallet until chicken is about 1/4 inches thick, in a skillet heat 1 tbsp of coconut oil over medium to high heat, place chicken in skillet and cook until chicken is slightly browned on each side about 8 minutes total

2) Remove chicken from skillet and place on a side plate, next add the remaining coconut oil and add in sliced onions, one onions become soft add in the garlic, saute for 1-2 minutes before adding the chicken back to the skillet, add in the lemon juice, chicken stock, rosemary, sliced onions, black pepper and red pepper flakes, bring mixture to a boil and then lower to a simmer cover and let simmer for 20 minutes, add in artichoke hearts and simmer for an additional 10 minutes

3) Remove chicken from skillet and set aside, add in the spinach and let wilt in the flavorful lemon sauce, once wilted place spinach in a plate, top with chicken, onions, and artichoke hearts, carefully four reserved liquid over, and enjoy!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

