Slow Cooker Beef Stew

14 Jun

So I realize that a stew might not necessarily be the first thing you think of when you think summer, typically a stew is the ideal winter time, cold weather, comfort meal, but with the recent week of rain and cold temperatures I feel as though I have an excuse for making a stew…..plus I was simply craving it…and my cravings of course don’t rational season!

I woke up early, giddy for tonight’s stew dinner to begin preparing,  (is it sort of weird that I was so excited for my stew that I had trouble sleeping the night before)? I chopped vegetables, added spices and poured the required liquid into my slow cooker, and let it cook for the next 8 hours. by 8:00 a.m. I had already finished preparing everything for dinner, isn’t it such a nice feeling knowing that you can go about your crazy hectic day, and when you come home a warm, fully cooked, delicious meal and aromatic kitchen will be waiting for you!

However, today was a very peculiar day as I had nothing to do aside from studying, a task that required me to simply sit at the kitchen table and bury my head in my books while being tempted by the amazing potent aroma which surrounded me, you can imagine what a huge distraction this was for me, every few minutes I would get up to see the progress being made with my stew and of course have myself a little sample (I just had to make sure it was good)! Oh and I can assure you it was! The clock struck 5:00 p.m. and I immediately closed my books and laded out a bowl full of stew, now normally I don’t usually eat quite this early but after spending the entire day at home “studying” while also trying to practice self-control by not eating the stew (and failing many times) I was not able to wait any longer, so I deemed 5:00 p.m. an appropriate time to eat dinner, and dug in!

Ingredients

2lbs of stir-fry beef

1 cup of carrots

2 medium sweet potato cubed

4 stalks of celery chopped

3 cloves of garlic minced

1 onion chopped

3/4 cup of red wine

2 cups of chicken/beef stock

1 tbsp of dried basil

1 tsbp of dired oregano

1 tbsp of dried parsley

1 bay leaf

salt and pepper

Method

Add all ingredients to a slow cooker, put on low and let cook for 8 hours or until vegetables are soft and beef is cooked through enjoy your hearty beef stew and frangrant filled home!

3 Responses to “Slow Cooker Beef Stew”

  1. garmin 1490t review June 16, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    There are some extremely excellent ideas here. Can not wait to put some of these into action. Its incredibly heading to bring good vibrations wherever the vibrations must be

  2. Nicholas Sweeton June 25, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    I am very happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this greatest doc.

  3. Electricity Bill July 2, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Thank You For This Post, was added to my bookmarks.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

