Pan Seared Pork Chop topped with a Rosemary, Balsamic Fig Jam

10 Jun

What’s the one piece of technology you can’t live without?

Is it your phone, for me it’s definitely not my phone I am constantly misplacing my phone or forgetting it, obviously this shows my lack of regard for it. Maybe it’s your TV? Definitely not my number 1 technological item, honestly I am too busy to find time to watch tv, trying to remember which shows air on which days and all the times and channels, it can all just get a bit overwhelming I much rather prefer to watch my shows the next day commercial free online!

The one piece of technology I thought I could never live without was my laptop, but somehow I have gone five days without a laptop and I am still here, barley surviving..but nevertheless happy to say that I am still alive!

It was a Tuesday, I had come home hungry and exhausted after being out for a straight 12 hours (gym, work, school, group study session), I started dinner and booted up my computer like usual, except for some very unusual reason my computer was displaying a blank black error screen which asked me to press a key, however, every time I pressed the key nothing happened. Aggregated, I did what we all do when technology fails us, pressed the power button, let it shut down and restarted it back up (for some reason this simple remedy seems to make all the difference) except of course for this time, after rebooting my computer the same error message appeared and after pressing buttons the computer screen did not change. Next I tried taking out the battery and powering down my computer, but once again it did no good! At this point I was now in freak out mode, thinking of the worse possible things (what if my computer died)! Within seconds I called Dell hoping that they would have the remedy, two hours later after pressing several buttons and trying several codes, my computer was still displaying the same error screen. The dell technician informed me that it was obvious that the problem was my hard drive and I would need to get it repaired, a $200 expense which required me to send my computer away for 8-10 days……I was now officially freaking out….actually that’s putting it mildly I was pretty much was a hysterical mess (no I am not being dramatic), my computer is pretty much attached to my hip, I use it to do my homework (and let me remind you I am a full time student taking summer classes, so this really wasn’t a good time for my computer to fail me), I relax each night by watching tv/movies on it, and I unwind when I get home by listening to my music on it as I make dinner and start my homework, and after all I am a food blogger who relies on my computer to share recipes for all my great readers, take all that away and what do I have……nothing.

I looked around my apartment only to discover that there wasn’t much to do without my laptop. I tired watching tv but considering that we only have basic cable in my apartment there wasn’t much on except for the news and a fiery soap opera on the Spanish channel, which I didn’t begin to understand and wasn’t quite desperate enough to watch. I decided to listen to music, but my IPod was completely out of battery and because I always plug my USB into my computer to charge my electronics, it looked like my iPod would also be out of commission! I decided to read a book on my kindle, but that too was out of battery too! Hmmmm did I mention how much I hate technology sometimes, I mean yeah sure its great and makes life easier but we become so dependent on it that without it we are absolutely lost!

So without any source of entertainment and nothing but time on my hands I decided to cook, I started concocting recipes using just about everything in the house, desperate to make the hours pass! Normally I am always looking for a short cut, how to make a delicious easy meal which can be prepared quickly, but now I took my time, I didn’t care how long the meals I prepared took, the more time the better! I came up with some really great recipes, so I guess in the end some good did come out of all this……I guess there is always a silver lining after all! These pork chops are definitely my silver lining, they’re tender and the fig jam compliments the meat wonderfully!

Ingredients for Pork Chops

4 pork chops

2 tbsp of olive oil

salt and pepper

Ingredients for Rosemary, Balsamic Fig Jam

10 figs either fresh or dried black mission figs, cut length wise with stems removed

1/4 cup of water

1/4 cup of honey

3/4 cup of red wine

1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar

1 tsp of freshly chopped rosemary

Method

1) Begin by combining all ingredients for jam in a sauce pan over high heat, let come to a boil, and then reduce to a simmer, let simmer for 35-40 minutes or until figs have softened and can easily be crushed with a fork, either leave as is, or puree in a food processor for a smoother texture, let jam refrigerate for at least 30 minutes while you prepare the pork

2) Preheat oven to 400, season pork chops with salt and pepper on both sides, add olive oil to a skillet pan over medium to high heat place pork chops in the skillet and sear for 4 minutes on one side, then flip over and sear for about another 1-2 minutes, remove skillet from heat

3) Transfer pork chops onto a greased baking sheet and bake for an additional 8 minutes to ensure the pork is throughly cooked and tender ( you may need more or less time depending on the thickness of your pork chops)

4) Once pork chops are through cooking, let them cool for about 3-5 minutes, place each pork chop on a plate and spread about 1 tbsp of the fig jam on top, enjoy!

2 Responses to “Pan Seared Pork Chop topped with a Rosemary, Balsamic Fig Jam”

  1. Danny June 10, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    Wow — this looks like an amazing tasty dish — love the topping!

  2. trixfred30 June 10, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    I can’t live without my tv programme recorder. I need that thing.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

