Sweet Grilled Maine Lobster

6 Jun

So these past few weeks I have been diligently trying to be more  experimental when it comes to the food department! I’m eating foods that as a prior vegan I swore I would never eat, Beef, Pork, Chicken, Scallops, Shrimp, Fish, I tried it all. Surprisingly I am loving it all too!

“whose bacon is this”? My Dad inquired as he hungrily rummaged through the fridge

“mine” I shouted from upstairs

“it’s really bacon” he half asked and half said as a statement, he’s used to my mock meat which surprisingly looks and smells just like the real thing

“yes it is”

” Kait, your eating bacon, I am so proud of you” My Dad cooed, I don’t even think he was this happy for me when I found out I got a 4.0 last semester! Apparently I didn’t need to be trying so hard in school, I just needed to start eating meat to win with my parents!

But I am happy too, I’ve enjoyed exploring new food items, discovering new flavors, textures, and expanding my horizons.

One of the items I had on my food to do list was lobster, so when I decided to head back home to CT for the weekend to visit my parents my Mom bought lobster in anticipation for my arrival!

I have to say eating this lobster I felt like I was really connecting with my inner cavewoman self, there’s quite a bit of work involved in eating a lobster, quite a bit of picking, sucking, and cracking…no doubt a very similar process that the cavemen went through in prehistoric times to extract their food from animals! But I must admit all that work was definitely worth it the moment I tasted the sweet lobster meat!

So let it be known, I am now a meat eating, seafood loving, lobster cracking, modern cavewoman!

Ingredients

1 cup of water (or more as needed)

3 live  lobsters

1 tbsp of olive oil

3 cloves of garlic minced

1 tbsp of white wine

2 tsp of lemon juice

a pinch of red pepper flakes

Method

1) Begin by adding water to a large sauce pot, let water come to a boil and  add in live lobster place lid on top and steam until lobster shell is red and lobster is opaque, do not cook thoroughly, lobster will cook once on the grill
2)Start up the grill by putting it on high heat, In a small bowl combine, olive oil, garlic, white wine, lemon juice and red pepper flakes, brush all over lobster, save any reserved liquid

3) Place lobster on a grill plate and cover, let heat thoroughly cook lobster, about 5 minutes, remove and serve with the remaining garlic wine mixture ( a much more flavorful and healthier alternative to butter)

4 Responses to “Sweet Grilled Maine Lobster”

  1. pittiefullove June 6, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Yay Kate!!! Look at you go! Bacon?! Hell yea girl! Now, if you really want to feel like a cavewoman, you should head on down to ‘Bawl-mer’ (That’s Baltimore) for some crabs, Hon! (thats how they speak down here…but they are on to something with the crabs!)

    • La Cucina Di Kait June 6, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      Ha i know I am dying to try crabs…looks like i’ll just have to make a trip down to baltimore!

  2. Dawn Robinson (@dawnro1101) June 8, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    I love the idea of a “food to-do list” I need to steal that idea from you. I live in Baltimore so I have had crabs but never lobster….is that odd and I just started to eat fish about a year and a half ago. My parents were not very adventurous when is came to food choices.

    • La Cucina Di Kait June 8, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Dawn,

      A food to do list is so much fun, half the time I write down foods I never think I am going to try an then I surprise myself and end up trying them and loving them!

      I comment you on trying seafood that’s awesome how do you like it, you should definitely try lobster the meat is so sweet and delicious! How do you like crabs, I am guessing that anyone who doesn’t like crabs must get kicked out of the state of Maryland right?

I'd love to know your thoughts....

