Carrot Cake Muffins

2 Jun

I love to cook, mostly because I love to be creative, experiment, and concoct new recipes, however these skills which have helped me to make some delicious culinary creations aren’t exactly transferable when it comes to baking, which is why I definitely do not  identify myself as a baker in the least.

The thing with baking is that one must be so precise, a perfect baked good is dependent on just the right amount of measurements, and as someone who doesn’t follow recipes….baking for me is always a bit of a gamble…I can never be quite sure about how something is going to turn out! Which leads me to my next point which I will now rant about….you make a batter, add in all the necessary ingredients, pour the batter into a greased pan, place it in the oven and bake it, only to discover that after 45 long minutes your baked good doesn’t taste good at all……hence the problem with baking, there is not a whole lot you can do to rectify the problem of a poor tasting bake good once it has been baked. In cooking you have the luxury of taste testing throughout the cooking process and adding necessary ingredients as needed, but in baking this isn’t quite possible, the only real solution is to throw it out and start over again (a pain in the butt if you ask me)

My final reason for not liking baking….I think I have ADD which is only brought on when baking (of course I am completely self diagnosing myself here so I could be way off base) But usually after deciding to make something I end up changing my mind about exactly what I am baking several times through out the process. For example just last week I decided to bake classic chocolate brownies, which soon turned into a chocolate almond butter cake, and then chocolate, banana, almond butter muffins, and then chocolate, banana, almond butter, coconut cookies (yup all those changes happened in a matter of 30 minutes) I am not quite sure what happens but it’s like my mind goes into over drive and suddenly my head floods with all these ideas, so there I am  scurrying around the kitchen pulling out ingredients from different shelves, eye balling measurements, and undoubtedly making a huge mess in the process.

I am also quite impatient when it comes to baking, I am like a little kid constantly checking the oven to see the progress made, usually not being able to resist temptation I end up simply pulling my bake good straight out of the oven and shoveling it into my mouth…usually burning my tongue in the process!

It’s obvious I wasn’t meant to be a baker!

In fact my lack of baking skills were further confirmed this past weekend when I used an entire bag of almond flour and have nothing  to show for it! I attempted making waffles (three times) and even followed the recipe exactly, yet for some reason part of my waffle always stuck to the waffle maker, even though I thoroughly greased the machine before ladling out the batter. I made pancakes that actually tasted and turned out perfectly (of course I was too self concerned with my own hunger that I didn’t bother to snap a picture) Deciding to make another batch I made my batter just as I had before but this time the pancakes didn’t quite form, so when it came time to flip them pancake batter ended up all over the pan and my “perfect pancakes” now looked like a scrambled mess (not exactly ideal for a photo opt).  I made scones that never rose, and muffins that were crumbly! Obviously it wasn’t too successful of a baking weekend!

Discouraged and a bit defeated I told my Mom about my baking triumphs. My Mom is a baker, she is patient, believes in precise measurements, and can some how resist temptation long enough to let the bake good fully cool without trying it! After listening to my pathetic baking story she decided she would attempt a paleo muffin recipe which she found on the internet. At 10:30 a.m. I returned to a cinnamon scented home from a swim and an intense Zumba class. I walked in the kitchen to see 8 large and beautifully golden muffins sitting on a plate on the kitchen table! Of course I had to try one….the verdict, delicious, perfectly flavorful, and they had an amazing texture quite similar to corn muffins! If only my Mom’s baking genes could have been passed down to me!

Here’s the recipes with a few slight variations and optional add ins

Ingredients
2 1/2 cups almond flour
3 large eggs
1/4 cup honey
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
3/4 cup shredded carrots
1/2 cup of chopped apples (optional)
1/4 cup of chopped walnuts (optional)
Method
1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Mix together dry ingredients.
3. Add in beaten eggs, honey, vanillla, applesauce, and carrots, apples, and walnuts. Mix well.
4. Place muffin liners in each muffin tin
5. Pour in muffin batter.
6. Bake at 350 for 35-45 minutes.

Click Here for the full post and original recipe

8 Responses to “Carrot Cake Muffins”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Banana Blueberry Coconut Flour Muffins « La Cucina Di Kait - June 12, 2012

    […] for those of you that read my rant last week about not being able to bake, well disregard it because guess who made a batch of […]

  2. My Homepage - June 17, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: lacucinadikait.com/2012/06/02/carrot-cake-muffins/ […]…

  3. disegnitatuaggi - June 23, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: lacucinadikait.com/2012/06/02/carrot-cake-muffins/ […]…

  4. lainaa internetistä - June 24, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 61183 more Infos: lacucinadikait.com/2012/06/02/carrot-cake-muffins/ […]…

  5. raspberry ketones benefits - June 24, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Find More Informations here: lacucinadikait.com/2012/06/02/carrot-cake-muffins/ […]…

  6. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20120513171436AAhFbLh - June 25, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More Infos here: lacucinadikait.com/2012/06/02/carrot-cake-muffins/ […]…

  7. tatuaggi - June 25, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Find More Informations here: lacucinadikait.com/2012/06/02/carrot-cake-muffins/ […]…

  8. Real Estate - June 25, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 71476 more Infos: lacucinadikait.com/2012/06/02/carrot-cake-muffins/ […]…

I'd love to know your thoughts....

