Paleo Inspired Shrimp Scampi

31 May

This simple, delicious and healthy meal makes for a great paleo dinner, unfortunately though it’s quite doubtful that you will ever be served this paleo friendly version of shrimp scampi when at a restaurant or when over someones home. No instead you’ll be served shrimp sauteed in fatty butter and served over a bed of linguine…so this dish which should be relatively healthy is now a high calorie death trap..which we should all stay away from. It really infuriates me just how unhealthy it can be to eat out, there are so many hidden ingredients added to just about everything to make the dish look more appealing, and because these items are generally not specified on the menu, we go ahead unknowingly eating our seemingly healthy meals, while really we are consuming far more calories than we bargained for!

For example butter is pretty much a staple amongst chefs used in just about all aspects of preparing a dish, from sauteing, to making sauces, it’s even brushed over meat to add an appealing sheen to the entree before being served!

Of course you can always specify to your server that you don’t want the butter, or if you have a food allergy always speak up, when I tell my server that I have a dairy allergy, I usually experience better service and the kitchen is much more aware of what they are putting in the entree, they prepare my meal separately and use substitute ingredients.  However be warned you might not necessarily end up with the most delicious entree, In my experience you will most likely will end up with something very blah!

” I would like the shrimp scampi, but I have a diary allergy, so no butter, but olive oil is fine and I also can’t have grains, can I maybe substitute sauteed spinach for pasta”?

The server starred at me in awe and confusion before turning his direction back down to his notepad where he hurriedly scribbled down notes

He walked away, and honestly I must admit I was not too confident in his ability to convey this message to the chef (this can also be a problem, if the server doesn’t delivery the request properly)

Twenty minutes later I was served my plate of sauteed shrimp over spinach, it looked like it had met all my requests, but after one bite I declared that the dish was terrible, no olive oil had been used, instead the shrimp was in a watery broth which lacked any flavor! For some reason they even seemed to forget to add minced garlic. I made one request, use olive oil instead of butter I didn’t request a total alteration of the meal, for some reason when  you note that you have some type of allergy I think often times because the kitchen in dealing with an allergy they somehow loose their creativity…they forget to use spices and herbs which can enhance the flavor of any dish, for some reason they think that guest will prefer plain, tasteless food…well heres some news…WE DON”T!

I wanted to march myself into that kitchen and prepare my own meal or at least speak my mind to that chef, but honestly I am not confident enough to do that, so instead I sat seated and picked at my meal!

So whats the lesson learned here…..stay home and cook, that way you know exactly what is going into the food your eating and you can ensure that your dish is prepared to your liking with tons of flavor!

Ingredients

2 lbs of shrimp, peeled and deveined

2 tbsp of olive oil + 1 tsp

1/4 cup of white wine

4 cloves of garlic minced

1 tbsp of lemon juice

1 tsp of red pepper flakes

A pinch of sea salt and fresh ground black pepper

1 spaghetti squash cut lengthwise

Method

1) Combine, olive oil, white wine, garlic, lemon juice,red pepper flakes, and salt and pepper in a bowl, reserve about 3/4 of the mixture and store in the refrigerator (we will use this later), place shrimp in a Ziploc bag and pour in remaining marinade mixture, let shrimp marinade for at least 1-3 hours

2) Preheat oven to 350, on a baking sheet which is greased with 1 tsp of olive oil and place cut side of spaghetti squash down, bake for about 45 minutes or until tender enough to be easily pierced with a fork, once done let completely cool (about 15 minutes)

3) While spaghetti squash is cooling, pour excess marinade liquid into a saute pan and let simmer, next drain shrimp from marinade, place is a grill basket over high heat, grill for about 3 minutes on each side or until shells are pink and shrimp is opaque, remove from heat and set aside

4) Using a spoon scoop seeds from spaghetti squash and discard, then scoop out the stringy pulp, place is a large bowl, toss the “spaghetti” with reserved garlicky wine sauce , top with shrimp and enjoy!

5 Responses to “Paleo Inspired Shrimp Scampi”

  1. krimkus June 1, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    I like your version much better! My mom adores spaghetti squash, so I’ve learned to cook it and find it much lighter and tastier.

    • La Cucina Di Kait June 11, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

      Yes its so tasty and the flavors can easily be satisfied, It satisfies that craving for having a base like a pasta in a dish, but it’s so much healthier!

  2. lidia June 2, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Its delicis & healthy. My thumb up 4 U Kait. Stay healthy & true to your believes

    • La Cucina Di Kait June 2, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      Thanks Lidia, I am trying!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. URL - June 1, 2012

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: lacucinadikait.com/2012/05/31/paleo-inspired-shrimp-scampi/ […]…

I'd love to know your thoughts....

