Charcoal Grilled Middle Eastern Spiced Kabobs

27 May

The sun is shining, the temperature outside is warm, and I am feeling great…can life be any better (well yeah of course it could be a lot better… but at this moment I’ll stop my complaining because quite honestly I am quite content with how everything is going)! It’s been three weeks now since I started this paleo diet, so what is the  verdict……..NO PAIN and NO STOMACHACHES! This change is health is obviously a direct result of the paleo diet and now that I am feeling good there’s no chance of me ever going back to the dark side (grains, sugars, legumes)!

“Kait, maybe you can just experiment, I am sure it’s not all grains that bother you” is the usual argument my Dad likes to make

to which I respond “NO WAY! there’s is absolutely no way I am willing to risk ever feeling miserable again…for a bowl of pasta…nah it’s just not worth it”!

Who needs grains……

If I am craving spaghetti I make spaghetti Squash

Rice….pulsed cauliflower makes a great substitute

Brownies, Cookies, Breads….no problem just substitute almond flour and non dairy coconut milk

Something sugary…dates make the perfect sweet dessert!

Am I missing something……..I think this paleo thing is a pretty good gig after all, especially when I get to enjoy delicious dinners like the one I had tonight! These kabobs were great, they were perfectly spiced and charred and made a delicious paleo approved summertime meal!

Ingredients for Kabobs

1 1/2 pounds beef tenderloin, cubed

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts cubed

1 red bell pepper seeded and cut into large pieces

1 sweet potato peeled and thinly sliced

2 large zucchini sliced

1 sweet onion sliced into large pieces

Ingredients for marinade

1/2 cup of lemon juice

2 tbsp of olive oil

1 tbsp of honey

1 tsp of ground cinnamon

1 tsp of ground cardamon

1 tsp of ground cumin

1 tsp of garlic powder

1 tsp of chili powder

Method

1) Mix together all ingredients for marinade, set aside 1/2 of the marinade (you will use this for the vegetables later). Place meat in a plastic Ziploc bag with marinade and let sit overnight

2) Heat up the grill to high heat, it’s Kabob time! Drain marinade from the meat, and discard. Thread meat and vegetables alternately onto the skewers, or if you’d like simply make an all vegetable and all meat kabob, using a pastry brush, brush the kebabs, specifically the vegetables with the reserved marinade.

3) Let grill until vegetables are tender and meat is thoroughly cooked about 15- 20 minutes (I love my meat well done and I also love the charcoal taste, so I tend to leave my kabobs on a bit longer)!

2 Responses to “Charcoal Grilled Middle Eastern Spiced Kabobs”

  1. Sharon May 27, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    YUMMY!!! This looks delicious!!

  2. krimkus May 28, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    I’m glad this plan is working for you and you feel better. I would never have thought to combine beef and chicken on the same kabob, but why not? The marinade would work for both and the whole dish looks amazing!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

