Spicy Rubbed Burger Topped with Buttery Avocado, and a Sweet Caramelized Pear Chutney

24 May

So unlike most people I don’t look at grocery shopping as a dreaded experience, in fact I quite enjoy grocery shopping, especially at Whole Foods, whats not to love the store is beautiful, the products are unique, and grown and prepared in ultimate conditions, plus there’s always free samples!

There’s just something so enjoyable about strolling through all the aisles browsing through all the gourmet goodies, getting inspiration for new recipes, and then of course buying plenty of things I didn’t intend to. Although as a paleo I find I am not spending my money  on frivolous snacks and luckily there are not many paleo friendly desserts and snacks on the market, as of yet, so I don’t find myself tempted! However I do now find myself lingering in the produce aisle and the nut butter aisle, yet the high price of these items usually deter me from going on to much of shopping binge!

The not so fun part of going to Whole Foods come during check out time, when it’s time to pay for all those delicious and gourmet goodies that ironically are so much fun to shop for but not so much fun to pay for. As the cashier checked me out she told me about a promotional sale going on, 90% lean grass bed ground beef burgers for a $1.00 each, for some reason although she was only making conversation and not at all pushy about the product and I am desperately trying to save my money,I told her to add a few to my groceries!

As I mentioned before I never was a big meat eater, but even as a vegan sometimes the pure aroma of a backyard barbeque would make me crave a juicy cheese burger with a soft seeded bun, so now that I am eating meat again I wasn’t quite sure if I would be fond of a bun less, cheese less burger without all the extra fixings, therefore I decided to add some unique burger toppings to add up some flavor!

These were so delicious and flavorful, I didn’t even miss the bun at all! In fact I pretty much inhaled this burger in a matter of seconds…which I kind of regret now, I really wish I had spent more time savoring each bite!

serves 4

Ingredients

4 ground grass fed lean beef patties

1 tsp of cumin

1 tsp of Spanish smoke paprika

1 tsp of chili powder

1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper

1 tsp of garlic powder

2 ripe avocados sliced

1 vidalia onion thinly sliced

2 pears peeled and chopped

1 tsp of olive oil + 1/2 tsp for greasing grill

1 tbsp of honey

1 tsp of cinnamon

1 tsp of balsamic vinegar

Method

1) If possible prepare burgers the night before by combining spices and using your hands to rub the smokey spice rub  into the ground beef, cover with plastic and store overnight in the fridge

2) Heat up grill or George Foreman Grill ( a small apartment owners best friend) and grease with olive oil, place burger on grill and cook on both sides, about 8 minutes total

3) Meanwhile prepare chutney by adding oil to a skillet, add in onions and pears, cinnamon, honey, and balsamic vinegar and caramelize on low to medium heat, about 10 minutes or until onions are translucent and pears are soft

4) Serve by placing burgers on a dish and top each one with sliced avocado 1/4 of pear chutney, enjoy!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

