Italian Flavored Flax Seed Crackers

22 May

It’s been three weeks that I have been on this paleo diet and I am feeling great, no stomachaches, no pain, woohoo! I have to say I don’t even find myself pining for the grains that I have completely cut out of my diet. No pasta, fine by me, no rice, who cares, no bread…ok maybe this one is a bit harder but i’m managing, no crackers….ok so maybe I lied because just the other day I was pining for a cracker!

The thing about being paleo is that you can still have delicious spreads such as baba ganoush, salsas, guacamole, and nut butters, however, with no grain component of the diet most of us paleos are forced to eat these delicious spreads on fruits and vegetables and don’t get me wrong it still tastes delicious but every now and then even the strongest willed paleo must admit sometimes a carrot topped with a bit of almond butter just doesn’t cut it, you need a crisp thin cracker!

Now I have never made crackers before so I wasn’t quite sure where to start, but oddly enough after finding Go RAW flax snacks, a raw vegan flax cracker and looking through the list of ingredients I was inspired to make my own crackers using flax seeds as the main binding ingredients and adding additional add ins to enhance the flavor! I had to play around with the measurements a few times (actually a lot of times) and adjust the cooking temperature a bit, but finally I found success with my fourth attempt, the first batch was too thick, the second batch had little flavor, and after making the third batch I completely forgot I had something in the oven..these were a bit overdone, but the fourth attempt was just right!

These crackers are simple to make, they’re flavorful, and perfect to serve with a delicious dip!

Ingredients

1 cup of ground flax seed meal

1/2 cup of water

2 tbsp of sunflower seeds

1 tbsp of sesame seeds

1 tbsp of poppy seeds

1 tbsp of honey

1/2 tbsp of garlic powder

1/2 tsp of onion powder

1/2 tsp of oregnao

1/2 tsp of dried basil

1/e tsp of dried parsley

a pinch of sea salt

a pinch of fresh ground black pepper

Method

1) Preheat oven to 400, mix all ingredients together, the mixture should have a thick gelatin like texture, if you notice that yours mixture is very thin, add more flax seed meal in to thicken

2) Using a spatula pour mixture on a parchment lined baking sheet, this next part may require that you get your hands a bit dirty (but  your cooking…so it should be expected). Use your hands to flatten mixture so that it’s paper thin (do no use a rolling pin to flaten mixture, the mixture is very wet and will stick to the rolling pin.

3) let bake for about 20-25 minutes until crispy, make sure to check crackers every five minutes as they do cook quite fast, let cool for 10 minutes, you will notice crackers become even crispier once they are exposed to air and are still on the hot baking sheet.

4) Using kitchen shears cut crackers into squares, enjoy as is, or run to the cabinet to grab your favorite condiments and put it on top of your delicious paleo friendly cracker!

I had an intense craving for almond butter, so I spread a bit a top of these thin crispy crackers! YUM!

5 Responses to “Italian Flavored Flax Seed Crackers”

  1. lynn May 22, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    sounds yummy… luv the site

    • La Cucina Di Kait May 22, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

      Thanks Lynn, I am having a lot of fun trying new foods and playing around with flavors

  2. sharon May 23, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    What is calorie count?

    • La Cucina Di Kait May 23, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

      214 calories for the entire batch, and i’d say say this recipe makes about 2 servings so only 107 calories per serving!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Italian Flavored Flax Seed Crackers | Fatfree Vegan Recipes - May 22, 2012

    […] For the full article check out my newest blog http://www.lacucinadikait.com […]

I'd love to know your thoughts....

