Crock Pot Chicken Curry

20 May

So a few days ago, Friday, I woke up energized and excited…why you may be wondering?  Well for starters Friday happens to be my one free day of school, and although it’s only been a week since the summer semester began, the short time between the end of the spring semester and the start of the summer semester makes it seem like school never ended at all!  Anyways getting back to my story, so what were my plans on my one free day off, I actually voluntarily signed up to work a catering shift! Originally working sounded like a good plan, why not make a little extra money, however I did not have that same mindset when I woke up to a beautiful warm sunny day, Friday morning, In fact I was now kicking myself for volunteering to work, this was my one free day off, shouldn’t I be entitled to enjoy one free day of non school and work activities? Yes I should be, I decided, a bit too late! I even toyed with the idea of calling out of work…..and although it seemed like a very appealing option I couldn’t actually go through with it.

So there I was at work dreading the rest the night ahead of me, the event was quite slow which of course only made things worse because time passed by painfully slowly. I spent most my time day dreaming about what to make with the fresh produce I had bought earlier that morning! Then as if the manager was reading my thoughts she walked into the event room observed the minimal amount of guests and realized that most of us were standing around with nothing to do,  She looked around and asked if anyone wanted to go home early because she clearly didn’t need us (at this point the catering staff was pretty much out numbering the guests…. which is always a bit awkward), obviously my hand shot up. and by 7:30 p.m. I was back home, I had changed into my sweats, unloaded the refrigerator of my produce and starting prepping the ingredients for my chicken curry! So at last on my free  day off I was finally doing what I wanted to be doing…..yes cooking on a Friday night…sure it may sound lame, but for someone who is constantly on the go, it was nice to finally be able to stay in, lounge around, and enjoy a relaxing night!

This flavorful curry is aromatic, delicious, and light, unlike many traditional curries it’s not as heavy or creamy, which is why this is the perfect simple and healthy summertime dinner!

Ingredients

1 tsp of coconut oil

6 skinless, boneless free range chicken breast halves chopped up into bite sized pieces

1/2 cup of onions finely chopped

3 cloves of garlic minced

3 cups of vegetables of your choice ( I used cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots, but anything would work)

1 sweet potato peeled and cubed

1 15 oz can of organic unsweetened coconut milk

1/4 cup of chicken stock

1 tsp of curry powder

1/4 tsp of cumin

1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp of paprika

1/2 tsp of coriander

1/4 tsp of chili powder

a pinch of cilantro used for garnish ( fresh is preferred, of course I didn’t have any so I used dried)

Method

1) Simply add all ingredients to a crock pot, plug in and put on desired setting (I used high because I wanted the meal ready is less than 4 hours) return in a few hours to an aromatic Indian spiced kitchen and a delicious chicken curry dish ready for you to devour!

3 Responses to “Crock Pot Chicken Curry”

  1. frugalfeeding May 20, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    That looks delicious and sounds so flavoursome!

    • La Cucina Di Kait May 20, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      Thanks if I do say so my self it was quite delicious!

      • frugalfeeding May 20, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

        Modesty is underrated anyway :D. I certainly have none – hehe.

I'd love to know your thoughts....

