Balsamic Glazed Pork Chops with Grilled Peaches

18 May

The thing I love most about summer has to be the amazing fruits! Especially peaches, their so juicy and sweet, so when I saw five peaches for $1.00 at Haymarket, I obviously knew this was a sign that I should buy them! Of course Haymarket being the fruit and vegetable paradise that it is and me being the bargain shopper that I am, I  went a  bit crazy with the buying of the produce and ended up with two huge bags filled with fruit and vegetables!

I somehow managed to lug my two now very heavy bags with me through a 10 minute walk and two t-rides back to my apartment, and I only made three stops throughout the journey to readjust!

Once I got home I begun to unpack the produce only to realize that my peaches somehow got buried under the rest of the produce, as you can imagine this wasn’t good, my ripe, sweet peaches were now bruised and squished. Of course I didn’t want to throw these peaches away, so I decided to place them in a ziploc bag in the fridge until I could  think of something to make with them! At first I thought about making a jam, but as a new paleo who is no longer eating grains I am not sure what I would spread the jam on. Then I thought about making a peach cobbler, but with the scorching heat reaching the mid 80’s today the thought of turning on the oven and sitting in a hot kitchen didn’t seem like a great idea either.

Then I remembered that I am eating meat (Yes I still have the vegan mindset and sometimes I have to remind myself that I am no longer a vegan, but hey it’s only been a little over two weeks now so cut me some slack)

I remembered once watching a cooking show where the chef was grilling pork and peaches, so I figured why not give it a shot, I consulted the internet for a few ideas, and got several hits for variations of  balsamic grilled pork chops and peaches, so I decided to try it! I have to say this recipe is extremely easy to follow and as someone who doesn’t have much experience cooking meat you should believe me! Plus it tasted delicious, the peaches which were slightly charred and glazed with balsamic were sweet and paired wonderfully with the aromatic and flavorful pork!

Makes 3 servings

Ingredients

3 center-cut pork loin chops

3 peaches sliced in half with pit removed

1/2 cup of balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp of olive oil

1 1/2 tsp of chopped rosemary

1/2 tbsp of honey

salt and pepper as needed

Method

1) Begin by whisking together balsamic vinegar,olive oil, rosemary, honey, and salt and pepper, reserve 1/4 of the mixture in a separate bowl (we will use this later for the peaches)

2) Place cleaning pork chops in a ziploc bag add, marinade and shake to coat the meat. Let meat marinade in the fridge for at least 2 hours (the longer the better)

3) Once pork has marinaded place on a greased grill ( I used my handy George Foreman grill), grill for about 4-6 minutes or until meat is thoroughly cooked

4) Using a pastry brush, brush the peaches with the reserved marinade, place peaches under a broiler or face down on a George Foreman Grill, the peaches cook very quickly so let sit for 30-60 seconds or until peaches are slightly charred and soft.

5) Serve each pork chop with two peach halves and enjoy!

4 Responses to “Balsamic Glazed Pork Chops with Grilled Peaches”

  1. Pasta Princess May 18, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    This sounds wonderful! Grilled pork chops are great with balsamic glaze!! I’ve never grilled peaches before .. but now I will! Have a great weekend.

    • La Cucina Di Kait May 18, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

      Thanks, For the comment, Yes I have found that grilling fruit brings out their sweet flavor, these grilled peaches even make a great dessert!

  2. meganchapple May 18, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    I’m not a big fan of pork but this sounds great. My boyfriend cooked me red pork and noodle salad today and it was really nice http://meganchapple.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/project-365-day-139/

    • La Cucina Di Kait May 18, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

      Wow that sounds good, I have to say the peaches and balsamic really sweetened up the pork and It was pretty darn tasty!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

