Oatmeal, Made Paleo Style

16 May

So apparently on the paleo diet people say that soon enough you become so accustomed to living without grains that you don’t even miss them, and that may be true to a point, but i’ll admit I miss my oatmeal like crazy right now! In fact I may be having oatmeal withdrawal!
I am not sure what I miss most, maybe it’s waking up on a chilly morning and having a warm comforting bowl of hot cereal, or maybe it’s the combination of the sweet maple syrup and cinnamon mixed together, or it may just be the fact that oatmeal take a ridiculously little amount of time to make and therefore it’s the perfect breakfast option for someone who is always on the go!

So yesterday as I was sitting at breakfast table eating my eggs ( my new staple breakfast) when I decided to Google a few of my favorite dishes and put the word “paleo” in front, just to see what would appear! Miraculously I got several hits for paleo oatmeal! Excited I scrolled through several recipes only to realize that like real oatmeal these recipes were quick, simple, and all used ingredients that I happened to have in my kitchen…perfect! So excited about my findings I decided I would make this for my next breakfast!
So early this morning I got up to make my oatmeal, surprisingly the process only took five minutes, the texture was thick and creamy and oddly enough looked just like real oatmeal, it tasted great too, actually I think  I might even prefer this “non oat” oatmeal to the original oatmeal because it has a slight banana flavor which I love! I am so happy to have my staple breakfast back!
Ingredients

1/2 of a banana mashed

2 tbsp of flax seeds

1/2 cup of almond milk (unsweetened)

1/3 cup of egg whites

1 tsp of cinnamon

1 tbsp of pure maple syrup

1/4 of the following blackberries or any kind of berries, almonds, walnuts, sunflower seeds, sliced banana (optional)
Method
1) Over low to medium heat add mashed banana, flax seeds, almond milk, and egg whites to a pot, stir mixture every few minutes
2) Stir in cinnamon and maple syrup, let sit for a few minutes, when you notice mixture beginning to bubble, remove from heat and spoon contents into a bowl, top with optional topping such as fruit, seeds, or nuts!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

