Cajun Flounder

16 May

According to my family I use to be quite a big fish eater apparently I loved it, but for the past 16 years I have not even touched a fish! However, with my recent decision to follow the paleo diet I soon realized that eating chicken three times a day everyday would soon get boring fast, so I decided to expand my horizons by introducing fish into my diet in hopes of adding a bit variety into my life. I was so unfamiliar with fish I didn’t even know how to prepare it, luckily My Dad happens to an expert fisherman, so under his direction I learned how to prep, flavor, and cook the fish! I have to say for an amateur I was quite pleased with the end result, even my Dad agreed that the dish was quite delicious, and as a an avid fisherman I definitely value his opinion! I also learned that I like fish, the light, flaky, and mild texture of the fish combined with the bold seasonings made for a perfect paleo approved main entree!

Ingredients

2 fillets of flounder

1 tbsp of cayenne pepper

1/2 tbsp of onion powder

1/2 tbsp of garlic powder

1 tsp of fresh ground black pepper

1 tbsp of chili powder

 1 tsp of thyme a pinch of salt

Method

1) Heat grill, begin by first mixing together spices, place two fillets in a ziploc bag and add in spices, shake back to ensure that fillets are well coated with seasonings. Remove fillets from bag and using your hands rub in seasoning

2) Place fish on a piece of aluminum foil and fold to make a foil pack, place pack on the grill and let cook for 8-10 minutes or until fish is flaky and begins to fall apart

3) Remove from heat and transfer fish to a plate, enjoy this delicious and light entree!

I'd love to know your thoughts....

