Banana Bread Has a Way of Making Everything Better

16 May

So today was a bit of a hectic day because today happened to be first day of summer classes and already after enduring one Accounting class I have decided to drop the class altogether.

Way back when, I think it was sometime in October I had a genius plan to register for summer classes, due to my Internship in Disney which I was away on during the fall semester I ended up being a semester behind, so registering for summer classes was actually a good idea because it would mean I would once again be back on track to graduate in the spring of 2014.
However, when I registered I figured having back to back classes would be ideal, rather then going to school four days a week I would only need to go in twice, however, the thing I didn’t pay attention to was the length of the classes. Because the summer semesters are shortened classes are accelerated so what a typical college semester covers in 12 weeks a summer semester covers in just 6 weeks, which means classes tend to be fast pace and long, three hours long and back to back classes would mean 6 hours of straight class room learning. Now before I go on I should tell you I can not sit still, I get quite fidgety simply sitting for too long and after 20 minutes of lecture my mind begins to wander. Because of this I have always taken short classes that meet more frequently because I find I am able to fully stay focused , better understand the material, and succeed in those classes. I have always been this way and knowing that  about myself, it should have set off some kind of  red flag, but instead my easy going Floridian attitude and non school focused way of thinking at the time kept me from worrying!
To make matters worse I decided to go back to work today too, not that my work is particularly hard but still after sitting all day at work then going straight threw 6 hours of classes, it can be a bit much!
So there I was in my second class of the day Accounting. Usually I am use to the first day of class being an easy day, we talk about the syllabus, go over class room rules, grading policies and then were done! But oh no this isn’t the way an accelerated summer class works, instead we learn on the first day!  We were about five minutes into class when I let my mind begin to wander. As the professor talked about equity, liability and assets I wondered what I should have for dinner., a chicken salad with dried figs, and walnut, chicken and vegetable soup, or maybe my left over pork chop….clearly this wasn’t a good start to things! Every so often I would struggle to direct my focus back to class, but I quickly became confused with the material, however I seemed to be the only one, because everyone around me  seemed to be grasping the concepts, they raised their hands, confidently answered questions, and asked questions which I couldn’t even begin to make sense of. Of course seeing this I began to get nervous, sure maybe it had something to do which my head being off in la la land, but I didn’t understand a single thing going on in that class, if i couldn’t grasp these simple basic topics then then even if I paid attention the rest of the classes I would still be confused and lost, and as a class which has a part two class I knew it was important to retain and understand the material, sitting in that class I doubted my ability to do just that. I knew in that moment that there was no way I was going to be able endure  a straight 6 hours of classes after a day of work!
So whats a girl to do, well I knew I had to let out some steam so I came home and baked. In half a daze I created my own recipe  and as I turned on the oven and started mixing I felt the tension ease as I for once that day was able to fixate on something other than school! This bread was delicious and so flavorful and sweet which is odd when you consider that absolutely no sugar was used and only a minimal amount of honey was included in the recipe! I especially love the flavor of the coconut flour, it definitely enhanced the overall flavorful of the banana bread!
Finally after a long day I sat down at the kitchen table with my fork in my hand, my banana bread on a nearby plate and the computer in front of me, I tediously began looking for replacement classes to fill the accounting class which I dropped the minute I walked in the front door after arriving home from school! Between mouthfuls I clicked various courses, luckily I ended up finding a small business management course which meats my requirements for a management elective, perfect and after reading the course material it looks a lot more interesting and endurable compared to accounting, plus it’s on a different day from my other class which means I’ll only have three hours of class a day, a far more manageable load in my opinion! I guess banana bread really does make everything better!
Ingredients
1  cup of coconut flour
1 tsp of baking powder
1 tbsp of cinnamon
1 1/2tbsp of honey
2 ripe bananas mashed
3 eggs
3/4 cup of coconut milk
1/4 cup of melted coconut oil + 1 tsp
1/4 cup of chopped walnuts (optional) or substitute chocolate chips or dried cranberries
Method
1) Begin by preheating oven to 350 in a mixing bowl combine all dry ingredients
2) In a separate bowl combine all wet ingredients, pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients to form a batter, stir in chopped walnuts or any other add ins!
3) Grease a 9 x 9 ” baking pan with coconut oil and pour batter into pan, let bake for 35- 40 minutes or until through cooked!
I'd love to know your thoughts....

